Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Wild West And Its' Living Fossils

by toinfiniityandbeyond - Jam Entry

The Wild West And Its' Living Fossils
-----------------------------------
'The Wild West And Its' Living Fossils' is a game where dinosaurs have come and invaded the wild west. They brutally murdered your friend and you want revenge. Kill every reptile you can get your hands on. The two different worlds collide together and are connected. (<- See what I did there)

This is my first Ludum Dare and also my first "Complete" game. It really isn't complete but at least it has a beginning and an end. If you want to play a more polished version of the game check out the post compo version which will constantly be updated.

Features
-----------------------------------
- Customise your player skin
- Fight against a what may seem like an endless wave of dinosaurs
- Dinosaurs ranging from small velociraptors, t-rex and huge brachiosaurus
- (Multiplayer, is buggy and may not work) and singleplayer*


Made by me with Unity and Photoshop.
Music by TomboFry. music.tombofry.co.uk

There is also a Post Compo version being worked on which is available (see above), but has multiplayer taken out until it works. The post compo version will eventually include:
- Shops
- Seamless multiplayer and singleplayer
- Achievements
- Different modes
- And more!


*This game features both single and multiplayer but both are very buggy due to the time constraints. This game was made in one and a half days. If you notice a game breaking bug please tell me. Thank you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Mood(Jam)3.95
#62Audio(Jam)3.86
#72Graphics(Jam)4.27
#119Humor(Jam)3.26
#151Overall(Jam)3.57
#268Fun(Jam)3.24
#409Theme(Jam)3.12
#587Innovation(Jam)2.66
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

This was pretty good. It's pretty odd how just a few people actually tried to combine two genres (in this case, cowboys and dinosaurs) to make a theme-related entry. This one turned pretty well.
I loved the graphics, and the song is gorgeous... even though I don't quite think it suits the game.
The game is overall good, but I think it's way too slow. The time needed to find an enemy is just too much. I liked that you can still shoot dinosaurs after you kill them, nice detail.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

AWESOME!!!! The art, music, and general feel were all great! I love the cutscene, death screen, and customization! The gameplay was a bit lackluster but was made up for by the exploding dinosaurs. Fantastic job! :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34am

This was fun, but very slow at the start!
Like I said on the stream: Start the game on the equivalent of wave 5 or so, and add an arrow pointing you towards the nearest incoming dino so you don't need to search for em as much, and you dont walk in the other direction.

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Very very fun!!!
The sound is awesome and I totally dig the simpel art it works quite nice.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Very nice game, with the caracther creator and the dinossaurs. But it could have a better gameplay.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Wow, fantastic graphics!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Man, the soundtrack has stuck with me. Props to the one who made it. The art is also gorgeous. The day-night cycle is also a nice touch which gives the game a really great mood.

Good job!

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Great Work and first LD!? Nicely done :)

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Great animations and effects. Really smooth experience.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25pm

totally friggin' ridiculous! The only thing missing is the gun sound. But I can excuse that. This is amazing!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Pretty fun, really dug the animations and overall feel, the day and night cycle, as well as the weather was a nice touch. This is an awesome job, especially for your first LD, keep it up!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Aawesome atmosphere, and great fun, keep the good work.

Mapboy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59pm

It was a great little game - the fact that there is multiplayer support is quite amazing considering that this game was made in such a constrained timeframe. Excellent job, would keep playing to see how high I could get xD

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Very cool! I love being able to customize my character and the day/night cycle.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Nice game but pacing needs work

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54am

I approve of this game. Awesome graphics and mood and music. I only wish enemies got to me faster so I could shoot them more.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:30am

A unique commentary on the lizardman menace in upper class society.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

I like it. Nice art, music and tech. Good stuff.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:34pm

This game was really cool! Out of all the games that I have rated so far, this game has the best music. It also has very nice graphics and a really cool feel to it. I wish there were a little bit more to do, to make it more challenging and rewarding.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

It's a simple and fun concept, which works rather well. I like the fact that there's actually multiplayer integrated. Also, Dinosaurs and Cowboys are an awesome mix.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:46am

Hi there. Amazing that you included character customisation. Like the music. Shame no gunshot sound. Would be good to have a helpscreen showing controls. Good job!

nesis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Loved the music and graphics. The day-night cycle was really cool, the stars popping up at night my favourite part of it :) Somehow both funny and sombre, well done.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:06pm

This visually looks really nice. I didn't like how you cannot see what's coming on your way and which direction it is coming from in Single Player. Music is cool. Also sometimes the arm of character turns upside down. I think this could be a better game with more features, same graphic style and some changes on gameplay.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:47pm

I know that you are already hard at work on the post-jam version. Adding some sfx would be great. I would love to have something to do in-between waves, like kicking rattlesnakes, or maybe looking for ammo, cutting open cacti for water? I dunno. Great job!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:28am

I think the time between waves, is a little slow, but the gameplay is nice. The customization is also a nice touch.

CartoonJenn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:18am

This was great! I really enjoyed the art style.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Great mood brought by your work on backgrounds, characters and musics. However the gameplay seems slow and lacks a bit of interest at the current time.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:29am

Very nice entry, neat and moody ! It's quickly repeatitive but I like all the little details : the customization, the cycle day-night, the rain, bullets falling to the ground... I hope to see the shop soon to test better guns :)

skiddings says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Missing a hefty gun blast sound.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:53am

Cool game and graphics. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

Tom Gardiner says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:20am

Thanks very much to everyone that liked the music! I have loads more on my website.

Anyway:
Sorry I didn't get to stream your game, I ended up being quite busy over the past week. The game was great and well polished, but like other people have said it needs to be balanced a little better. I guess I could also compliment the music too ;D

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Yeah, was pretty awesome... BUT, I really would have liked the opportunity to mix & match my pants and shirt in the customization phase ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]