Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gods Tactics

by eLLectron - Jam Entry

First of all, I'd like to thank the eLLectron team !
-> ArtRemix (chiptunes)
-> BedoPear44 (pixel art) & MV22 (minor pixel art)
-> Ixous (game design)
-> YoPox (code)
In order to make this game, we used Milkytracker, Photoshop, Sublime Text and Chrome.

In Gods Tactics, you create the IA of a team :O
During battles, you can't choose your team's actions, so you'd better choose a good tactic ;D

There's still some bugs ! Please understand this is only our second jam ;D

We want to use the core idea in an Android game! Please provide feedback about the AI part (what was good, what wasn't, what's missing...) :D

I hope you'll enjoy playing Gods Tactics !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Humor(Jam)3.31
#303Innovation(Jam)3.17
#349Audio(Jam)3.15
#482Graphics(Jam)3.13
#569Mood(Jam)2.74
#651Fun(Jam)2.50
#663Overall(Jam)2.76
#729Theme(Jam)1.93
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25am

Nice and funny Idea.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:27am

The idea is really good. I love how the game looks, nicely made. The music is giving nice atmosphere to everything. Well done.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:37am

Funny graphics, gameplay and idea is really interesting! Good job on this one!

EMAK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:03pm

funny graphics!

Perjoka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Nice idea, great graphics & audio.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I have not fully understood and have found it a bit boring, but the music and design have liked

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08pm

This didn't work in Safari. Worked in Chrome though. Nice idea.

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Man I'm a sucker for a game like this. Seriously - i would love to love this. But there are a few things that turn me slightly off. Firstof - this game NEEDS attackanimations. Or atleast have the text scroll faster. I like simulations like this and am a ok with having to plan my battles beforehand. I'd wish for some options like "when low on hp" use potion or "when enemy is charging" use defend. However nice gamedesign - the arena looks cool. I hope you'll finish this game or someone will ever come up with a similar design. Nice idea, really. :)

eLLectron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Hey Fumiko !
Thanks ! We want to bring this idea on Android and we will polish it way more than we could in 3 days ;D
In this web version you can edit rules by clicking on them !
Try to click on each turn and you'll have HP < 50%, 25% and 10% so basically you can already do "If HP low use potion" :D
I'll send you a message when the Android version will be out !
~ YoPox

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Nice - i didnt notice. Well on my first battle two of my guys were still on randommode all around. I'll be happy if the UI does some work for me then. :)

psychonull says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Good graphics and audio.

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

Liked the concept a lot, very nice and well-thought out. Animations and font could have been better, as well as damage feedback but overall the graphics are great. Sound was pretty cool.

I think it needed to use the theme a bit more. Good entry!

dunin says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:06am

cool idea.
Need animations, a system to accelerate battle and some axplanations (first try I was thinking I only have "each turn" possibility...)... And it will be a cool game.
(and in my browser, the game is on the left bottom of the site, it's really weird...)

Morusque says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:22am

The battle is taking forever and seems buggy, which breaks the fun a bit but I like the concept.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I've had the same idea myself, even though I've yet to implement it, so of course I was interested in trying your game out! For some reason though I just couldn't get the AI to follow my orders. Both times I tried to battle my team just did whatever it wanted :(. As already mentioned, especially the battles could use polish to make it more interesting. You might have the beginnings of something great here though!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

psychomonster says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:47am

Cool artwork. Nice concept...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]