Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Theft of Purpose

by gaarlicbread - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is puzzling world inspired by games like Myst.

The name comes from a complex story that isn't obvious from playing the game. The crystals in the game are called virtues, and your world's main virtue, called purpose, has been stolen into another world. You must save your world by restoring the virtues to their rightful places.

=== Playing ===

*Windows* Download, unzip, and run Game.exe. Maximize the screen before you press enter since the game takes over the mouse while playing. Press alt+F4 when you're done.

*Mac* Download, unzip, and run the app; you may have to right-click the app icon and choose open since it will be from an "unrecognized developer" (no one recognizes me, so sad). Maximize the window before you hit return to start playing.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#422Innovation3.33
#432Graphics3.27
#444Theme3.40
#638Overall3.13
#651Fun2.93
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Sorry, no OS/X

gaarlicbread says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Hey @Endurion, I plan to add a windows version if I can manage to do it quickly.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I downloaded the windows version but i get a notification that says i am missing the MSVCR120.dll
Anything I can do to fix this? More than willing to put in some effort if it helps.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Interesting game, took me a while to figure out the solution.

gaarlicbread says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Hi @DvanderAart - thanks for reporting that! I added msvcr120.dll to the zip file. It's tricky for me to test it myself because I already have all the necessary DLL files on my laptop and don't want to delete random ones to see if my zip file contains everything it needs :)

If anyone still has trouble running the windows version, you can download the needed runtime components directly from Microsoft here:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Just click the Download button on that page. I hope the current zip file makes downloading that unnecessary, though!

Ventura says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I get strange error in windows 7: http://snag.gy/TsAxY.jpg
That means the application couldn't start correctly.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Thanks for posting the link! I did have to dl that before I could play! Solid entry. Good luck!

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice little puzzle, though it did get a little tedious to control and run back and forth. Or perhaps I just didn't get it :P I love the sounds.

gaarlicbread says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Hi @Ventura - sorry it's not working for you. I developed on a windows 8 machine. I tried to make it windows 7-compatible, but perhaps I messed up and it requires windows 8 after all. To be honest, I'm not 100% sure. You could try downloading the windows runtime components to see if that helps. http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Ventura says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Interesting idea and funny sounds hehe :).

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Even after installing those components it still doesn't run on my Windows 7 machine I'm afraid.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:09am

osx worked for me but the screen was really really small and I couldn't get my mouse back

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Very nice idea! I loved the teleportation sound ;)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:09pm

pretty funny lol

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Really cool aesthetics, the game is simple but fun and incorporates well the theme. Nice entry.

gaarlicbread says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Hey @RobotFriend, you can fix the screen size by resizing it before starting to play. Sorry about the difficulty.

Also, @nintendoeats, maybe the app requires windows 8 despite my efforts to avoid that. If anyone has gotten it to run on windows 7 lemme know. Otherwise I'll assume I messed up the dependencies and it only runs on windows 8. Sorry :(

Colthor says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:39pm

You need the Visual Studio 2013 (x86) runtimes installed. You can get them from here:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Probably best to remove msvcr120.dll from the archive; if it's not installed properly it won't help.

The game's a good piece of work. The portal is impressive. But I couldn't figure out the puzzle at all.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:41am

Runs without a hitch on my Macbook. The game was a bit trial and error for me - I simply picked crystals from the other world at random and then brought them to the proper pedestal if the colors matched. Dunno if there was more to it than that. It was a nice, quick and clean little thing anyway, so I don't really have any complaints. Really cute sound effects. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]