Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tough Love Machine

by intmain - Jam Entry

Press R to reset when you get stuck.

Wiggle your arms and push the hearts together.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Overall(Jam)4.24
#13Innovation(Jam)4.29
#13Fun(Jam)4.16
#107Mood(Jam)3.70
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#194Graphics(Jam)3.85
#337Audio(Jam)3.18
#393Theme(Jam)3.15
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

The puzzles in this game are incredibly clever, each one had me evaluating and re-evaluating how to solve it for several minutes. I love that so many different strategies could arise out of such a simple game. Great Job.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47am

Really unique game. I love the visuals, the puzzles, and the audio. Great job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29am

Wow! Really Loked the game mechanics!
Puzzles are challenging sometimes=)
I totally impessed!

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43am

Very nice game, I had a lot of problems figuring how to pass level 1 (even though I saw gif before).

soerxpso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:44am

This game is very original. I like the concept and the puzzles are well-designed.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51am

Very interesting game, original concept, lovely art. Solid entry!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55am

An amazing puzzle.

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

Nice game, but I need the hand one click longer in the second level, I couldn´t pass through:)

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14am

I really like your puzzle game. The connexion between both hands is very interesting. It was difficult for me to move the left hand because of my French keyboard!

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:48am

Charming game! I need to strategize my moves before I do anything hahaha! I like it overall!

twintrite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47am

Puuh that's some hard puzzles right there! Very nice game as a whole and superb visual and audio style :)

jujule says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:15am

Very smart take on the them an superbly executed. Everything is so consistent. I want more!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22am

A great puzzle on every aspects. At first I thought this was goind to be hard as hell, but I managed to finish the game though I'm bad at puzzles. The hearts and cogwheels reminded me of These Robotic Hearts of Mine.

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36am

great puzzles. i feel some of the later ones were easier than the first few, though that's minor. pretty stellar entry.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Awesome entry, the graphics are nice and the gameplay very clever.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Fantastic game, really original and clever.
Kept me hooked until the end! Thanks!

I guess the difficulty curve could be a little better, the levels seemed to jump around in difficulty a little bit but that's a minor complaint. Good job!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19pm

I had to play this since the first time I saw the gif.
Really cool puzzle game, the first two or three levels are maybe a bit too tough for the beginning.
I was just missing some funky music to the funky visuals.
Overall I like it very much.

jerombd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Clever puzzle-game! I liked this simple aesthetic, almost abstract.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Puzzle games! Simple, fun, challenging. A total package.

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Very challenging but very fun :D

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Wowee, this is a lot of fun! On top having a great look and feel, the puzzles are remarkably creative! Great work!

smizmeal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Good puzzles. Surprisingly hard, but very fun! The simplicity/friendliness of the style is really nice -- it stops you from getting mad at it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Really clever mechanic that kept me played for quite a while. I got stuck on the level that looks like two humanoids though. The difficulty in general seemed to fluctuate a lot but it was still pretty fun.

The graphics and sound complimented the weird concept well.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Love the idea - very unique, and the little pitch change in the sound is brilliant. Puzzles are fiendishly difficult though from the start! Would maybe recommend a slightly fairer difficulty curve to get used to the mechanics but still excellent.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:30am

Cool stuff. Level One is a bit difficult, but doable...

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:33pm

A real brain tickler! The first level is definitely a trial by fire (I felt the fourth was way easier), but the ropey arm mechanics provide very interesting puzzling.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26pm

I love the art style! Challenging puzzles! The learning curve is maybe a bit too steep for me though.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Very nice puzzle! I was hooked within a couple of seconds.

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I really liked how you had to use the arms not only to move the hearts and gears around, but also to alter the map (e.g., making platforms).
Nice game! :)

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:03am

Quite the clever entry (:

torvik88 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

Really loved it, it has that retro feeling to it plus it makes think a bit how to complete the game. Really really nice one mate :)

Patacorow says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

I'm in love with this game. Sound is spot on!

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

wow! I like puzzle game when we get stuck a long time and when you solve it you say "it was so simple!". Second and last levels make me that.
And control two arms with our two hands is cool (it seems weird, I know... but it's not common in videogames ...)

zatyka says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:36am

Brilliant level design. I enjoyed the game quite a bit.

ClownAround says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:14am

This game is fantastic! I simply love the concept. Excellent level design. Great aesthetic. Truly well done. The last level is great!

Managore says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:30am

Easily one of my favourites. Incredibly well thought out and unique puzzles with an adorable and well polished style. Fantastic work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]