Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nemesis

by deadpixelsociety - Jam Entry

A physics-based game that takes the theme pretty literally.

Control the evil planet Nemesis as you seek to swing, crush and incinerate all the planets in an unsuspecting solar system!

Requirements:
Java 6+
OpenGL 2.0+ compatible graphics card

Coding: The Dead Pixel Society/@deadpxlsociety
Art: Simple Independent Studios/@thedogofdoom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Fun(Jam)3.84
#110Overall(Jam)3.67
#119Theme(Jam)3.72
#184Innovation(Jam)3.44
#189Mood(Jam)3.47
#312Audio(Jam)3.22
#368Graphics(Jam)3.42
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28am

This is awesome game. I like it gameplay style!

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02am

So much fun swinging planets into the big spiky one in the middle with malice >:3

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57pm

The big spiky one in the middle is a sun! :)

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Minimalistic and fun :) love it

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

There's something innately satisfying about using a planet as a flail. I'm not sure how the scoring system is supposed to work because, due to the procedural generation, scores from different games aren't necessarily going to be comparable. The particle effects when you slam a huge planet into a sun are so cool though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Agreed about the scoring. It's very, very loose at the moment and only a reflection of how you played. The plan was originally to have you be able to name a system to generate, or re-visit past systems. Plus other scoring mechanisms. We just ran out of time really.

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17pm

This game is awesome dude, well done. Fun to play and I dig the music :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

That is stupidly fun.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Glad you like it! I need to make it back up to RunJumpDev eventually...

barryrowe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Nice mechanic! Throwing planets into one another is oddly satisfying.

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Fun game, nice entry. :) Just played through once but it shows that you've put in a lot of effort and it paid out nicely in the end.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:26pm

The mechanic is addictive. Had a lot of fun throwing planets into the sun (best score: 30255).

Only criticism is that it's a bit too easy to get lost. Would like an indicator where the sun is, and maybe a visual effect showing that I'm successfully tethered (so I don't ram myself into a planet and get destroyed).

That said, awesome entry! :)

Tosic says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Very, very nice game, I like everything about it, the idea, sounds! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]