Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Colonized worlds

by The_Flash_Point - 48 Hour Compo Entry

keys 1-4 to change between the structures

left click to create a structure if avaliable

right click to an asteroid to destroy it

beweare of your conditions!

PS: the .exe file is currently unavaliable, sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#473Audio2.82
#653Humor2.19
#878Graphics2.58
#936Mood2.52
#990Innovation2.51
#1023Fun2.46
#1045Theme2.36
#1115Overall2.49

Comments

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:55am

Hi, what gamemaker version did you use? I tried importing it in gamemaker studio and it said the file seems to be corrupt. I hope you can get a exe up soon!

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:57am

Oh, I'm on Window 8 64bit if that helps.

mklee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:22am

I'm also having issues trying to get the game running. I have GameMaker: Studio installed, but do we need 8.1 or an earlier version?

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:24am

I don't have GameMaker installed, is there any way to get a standalone version?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:19am

Hey! It's probably best to get a web build or a .exe out cause I want to try out your entry but I don't have GameMaker either.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:35am

A Windows executable would be fine, no GameMaker here.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I use GM 8

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:31pm

i fixed it! now you can dowload a .exe file.
Google drive was giving me trouble so i use dropbox now XD.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

A simple idea but pretty fun. Some weird things happen if you build structures right on top of asteroids! Sometimes, asteroids spawn right on top of Earth too. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Took some time to work out what to actually do (and there were a few bugs like an asteroid spawning on top of a wall and getting stuck) but good take on the theme.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

thanks! Im working on a new version with less bugs but its post compo.

stoz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

Things were a bit too unclear as to what is happening in this game. I read the description as well, but overall I couldn't quite make heads or tails out of what I was supposed to be doing. I did blow up some asteroids and build stuff, but not sure why! Then my planet exploded.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:31am

Can't say I cared for it that much, I think in in large part because of the issue with asteroids spawning in or near the planet.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:56am

Interesting.. Not really sure what I was supposed to do.. that and when I noticed astroids spawning on my planet it became a little tiresome.. additionally.. I couldn't use the third and fourth item.. only the first for some reason.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:11am

There are economic factor displaying at the top left corner on the screen,you probably hadnt enough to build the other ones

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:14am

It was a pretty good game in my opinion. It kept me occupied for a while and I enjoyed playing it, so I guess that's what is important when making a game. Good job man.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

I'm not really sure what's going on at all in this game. It really needs instructions.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

Really interesting, graphics and all!

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Asteroids spawning on the earth made it hard to protect it..

SK16Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:04am

When I just saw the thumbnail I thought it would be a game just like mine :P but it was actually a pretty cool little (different) game :D But I didn't see the "connected worlds" thing though... Nice soundtrack!

Druid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Yay! Another game maker fellow! :D Anyway.. Pretty good game! I really like those economic based games!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Window of opportunity to shoot down asteroids feels to be too short, you can't really build and protect at the same. Also wish building had their names and stats in-game somewhere. Overall a decent game that has lots of potential for improvement, hopefully there will be a post-LD follow-up.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Couldn't really figure out the gameplay, but I did enjoy the music :) Maybe a few more details would help?

Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Asteroids sometimes spawn too close to the earth, making it impossible to do anything.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Nice graphics and gameplay

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]