Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Great Space Salad

by KuGrou - Jam Entry

Attempt to save the connected planets from starvation by finding the great space salad.

Controls are on the itch.io page below the web player.

Standalone downloads are on the bottom of the itch.io page, but I've also included a backup on dropbox. (Note that OSX and Linux builds are untested)

I used the open beta of Unity 4.6 so you may need to update your web player or use play a standalone build if the web player isn't working right for you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#81Innovation(Jam)3.70
#111Theme(Jam)3.74
#159Humor(Jam)3.06
#401Mood(Jam)3.05
#417Fun(Jam)2.97
#424Overall(Jam)3.16
#462Audio(Jam)2.85
#513Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

Pesty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Fun literal take on the theme

Camera controls were a bit weird on the ground stages and it wasn't too clear how far you were able to move the planets apart on the stages.

Fun nonetheless and I saved two planets from world hunger so i feel good about myself none

BigHairDan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Like it.
We had a similar idea with our game but your rope mechanics are a lot more satisfying!

KuGrou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Thanks for the feedback. The update I just posted included some visual adjustments that should hopefully make it a little clearer how far the planets can get from each other.

The camera in the ground stages is meant to stay "behind" you based on your velocity, so it can be a bit finicky when you try to stop or turn around.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:08am

A little tricky to maneuver at first, but I really enjoyed it!

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24am

Quite fun and quite difficult I found

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I was using the 360 pad; I couldn't really control the planets in space at all, but once on the ground using the pad was excellent. It was very fun and challenging to think about what both planets were doing, overall a really good job

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I love this literal interpretation of the theme, and it looks good at the same time. I found it very hard though, but that's not necessarily a bad thing :) - Good job.

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Fun game!! It was hard to get used to the ball movement at first but it was cool when I got the hang of it. Good work!!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:40pm

You really need to have good divided attention. Nice game!

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I like the literal connection and the way it controls felt difficult but not unfair. Good job on that! Graphics and sound did their job well, too.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Interesting take on the theme.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Really clever approach. Not sure the "floating in space" segments added much - I would've much preferred more mazes. And maybe a slightly more forgiving camera perspective (maybe horizontal split-screen instead of vertical?).

barryrowe says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

I like this concept a lot. The sub-levels are very tough, but a good challenge. The controls switching directions when the camera changes views is a little bit odd, and led to a lot of lost connections.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Great idea, however the balls rolled way too fast for me, and it took me a while to figure out the controls for the second ball. Well done :)

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:36pm

The controls were a bit slippery but the mechanics were fun. I like the difference between the comet survival and the platformer stages but the comet survival was a bit too easy.

Sestren says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:32am

Pretty cool entry. For a literal interpretation of the theme, this was really well done. I would have liked to see some kind of obstacle course for the space stages, since spinning the planets to move around felt very satisfying.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Interesting idea. The space flying segments didn't really feel fun or useful. The puzzle segments on the other hand were fun and engaging and thye might actually work well as a multiplayer game! Some polish here and there, some space flying segment changes and it's a great puzzler. Also multiplayer might be a great way to continue working on this!

Joona@MooseflyGames

JonathanG says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I may have solved two worlds' hunger, but I probably caused untold damage by crashing the planets into each other and the asteroids...

This is a good game, I like the incidental crashing details on the "space" section, even though all you have to do is fly over to the right. The "ground" section reminded me of super monkey ball (although with very twitchy controls) but with the added challenge of keeping the planets close enough together. Great fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]