Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

I Think I Broke Something

by Otrora Games - Jam Entry

Jump through portals as fast as you can to stay alive, but be carefull!! Some enemies are immune to some of your weapons.

---
Controls:

Arrow key = Move

WASD = Shoot

Space = Change Weapon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#139Graphics(Jam)4.03
#248Humor(Jam)2.75
#255Audio(Jam)3.34
#335Theme(Jam)3.26
#374Overall(Jam)3.24
#415Fun(Jam)2.98
#443Mood(Jam)2.99
#483Innovation(Jam)2.86

Comments

Fumiko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16am

The Art is nice, the difficulty is horror. :D
I averaged a survivaltime of about 20 seconds. The game does good with the fast respawn to get you in again - however starting with slightly easier levels may come a long way.
Also sometimes i got the feeling that the archer and mage didnt hit their respective enemies (spiders and ghosts)

EMAK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07pm

very difficult, but very fun!

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31pm

difficult, but enjoyable

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Pretty good! Lovely audio and visuals.
I think the game might be little too brutal from the get go, the time to reach the next world portal is very, very strict.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

wow, this was really hard! but I enjoyed it quite a bit! thing is tho, it's impossible to survive after a portal has closed again, wich is not that fun :/

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

the amount of time you get to jump in a portal is way too short. I just hang around one end and hope it's the correct one. nice graphics though.

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

its okay

voxel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11pm

beautiful art, great music. Interesting RPS style combat, found it a little difficult to guess which weapon should be used on each enemy but maybe im just dumb :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11pm

The game is very difficult but I love it, it's fun

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12pm

I feel like the movement controls could use some sharpening up to make this more manageable and addictive. Cool concept.

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12pm

A fun game! Are you supposed to be able to shoot in more than one direction at the same time or is it a bug? Anyways, i enjoyed this game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17pm

I like the game look but it's just way tooo difficult. You should have made some difficulty selection or something. But it's not bad. After some trying I was able to survive for quite a long time!

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Very good entry!

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

difficult, but fun

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

This is absolutely worth a short and intense session. It's fun, but lacks polishing(obviously, what game here doesn't).
Artwork is top notch and music really sets the right mood. Overall a pretty unique experience.

Oh yeah, and it's hard as balls!

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Very difficult, with some balancing this can be a fun game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Was able to survive 55 seconds. The quick restart definitely helps. Really tough game but liked the different characters mechanic.

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

As many, visually awesome, unbearable difficulty (short portal window, only 3 lives) x_x

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Very very difficult game. :D

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nice game, congrats!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Not a fan of arrows + WSAD setup, especially in such fast-paced games like these. Also, these mechanics aren't particularly friendly to new players. ^^"

And yes, there really could be more time to enter the portal. As it is now, it's quite difficult (though still somehow managed to get 550 for orphans). >.<

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Fun game. I love the graphics. Soooo difficult! :D

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58pm

The art is wonderfull, but the game is way too difficult. The game itself reminds me a binding of Isac. Great job :)

arzi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I really liked the art and the music, but the difficulty is just too much. It seems nearly impossible to get to the next world. Since the portal never opens twice, why not either kill the player immediately it shuts down or give another try?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Juicy!

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Arrrggg , too much dificulty!!

But a fun game nonetheless :D

Cliff Lee(CK) says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17pm

I like the style and art, but a little too intense.

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24pm

I died very quickly and it was difficult to have time to get something on each level before having to rush to the next. Fun game tho! :) Nice job!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Had a lot of difficult managing the controls, maybe you could reverse it, move on wasd and arrow to shot, for me it's more logic this way. But nice entry.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Nice. I would have loved to play with a gamepad.... would have made the difficulty not so rough.

WeaselZone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00pm

I felt the controls are really experimental, couldn't really get used to using WASD to shoot, I think I would have prefered mouse aiming and shooting and WASD to move. Also I didn't understand the color coding - nice graphical style and audio!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Wow! This game is really hard, but it kept me laughing (about how much I kept dying)

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Very cool game. 8)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Fun, but EXTREMELY difficult!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46pm

I like the graphics and the audio, it's quite polished as it is. The gameplay is needs some balancing, but I enjoy the frantic scrambling to the next portal while trying to face enemies, problem is the low life count making it too brutal.

Arowx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice game but really needs mouse for shoot direction.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Love the artwork but I die so fast and the portals disappear so quickly! Maybe if I had more health?

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Great graphics, very difficult! It could be slightly slower at start, then player would have more time to learn controls at least :)

TinyHat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38pm

MAN, this is SO HARD. I am not coordinated enough to ever get good at this game. But this is fun, well thought, and beautifully drawn.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Awesome art! I had a tough time surviving and remembering which weapon killed which monster though :)

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45pm

This is really much more fun that I thought! Very good driving music! I press buttons like a idiot while smiling :)

Now I have to try that again.

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Art is great! SUPER HARD, barely made it to the second world. Audio is also pleasant!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28pm

nice and very challenging

barleyarley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15pm

The art style and music is fantastic, but I found the general game play a bit lacking unfortunately. It could have done with not being quite so cramped I think.

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Quite good. For some reason I could not shoot to the right.

Skills641 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Game breaks after 2 levels, you can't attack any enemies

Otrora says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08am

@Skills641 Sorry about that. I've been trying to find the bug you are pointing out, but it didn't happen to me. Thanks for the report anyway.

alhvi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42am

I liked the graphics and the audio. It is a very hard game, I think the time is too short to get into the portals, and the controls are hard to get used to(I kept forgeting which ones were to move and which ones were to shoot). I like that you can change weapons and that each one has different effect on the enemies. Good Job :D

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37am

Really enjoyed the art!

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43am

Great idea, great implementation. Fun and very polished. Congrats!

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54am

interesting idea but that feedback needs some tweaking :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:48am

Not sure why I was dying even when switching worlds but fun game. Really like the artwork.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:13am

Loved the graphics but the time you can be in each world is too short and it wasn't very clear to me why my shots weren't hitting until later. Getting used to the dual stick controls being switched was also weird. (Binding of Isaac uses WASD to move) But I really like the concept and enjoyed playing. Managed to last for 59 seconds.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:34am

Nice music, cool innovation and great job overall!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:48am

Nicely made but very difficult! Sometimes the portals seemed to appear too late for you to even escape.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:51am

Nice art

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27am

Fantastic! Crazy difficult, but well made!

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:28am

the timer is too fast

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52am

Very fun game! Took a few tries to really get going, pretty difficult.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:39am

Supercool graphics. Superuncool difficulty level.

Peni6 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:52am

WASD and cursor keys for different controls didn't work for me as they are the same buttons on my keyboard (fn+WASD for cursors). Not left any rating as it wasn't really playable.

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:58am

I wish I could see which of the two portals would open so I could prepare to go there. Like this it really is a 50:50 chance of survival.
Nice graphics though.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Hey man! Great concept. I liked the challenge.

mess110 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:28pm

cool animation. would love to be able to shoot diagonally

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Nice game, hard but very fun to play.
I think that if you use WASD + arrows to control, it would be more intuitive to move with wasd and shoot with arrows (or maybe I'm too much used to the binding of Isaac)
The graphics are very cool and the music is nice too

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:29pm

This game is fun but could use some balance. The teleporter always spawn behind enemies and it is a hard to get through without losing health. The way you have to get through teleporter seem more luck based. Why? Because there is just enough time to get to one side of screen. Also sometimes when you shoot (on latter level?) the bullets goes through the enemy without doing damage?
Anyway Very fun game, nice art style, good sound and concept keep it up :D.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice art style. It's fun to be forced to change worlds constantly while still killing a few monsters to gain time, it's actually very hard to stay alive, you have to try many times to get the hang of it. I have a small complaint about enemies' resistance. It's not clear what hero I have to use. Would have been simpler if red kill red etc. Anyway neat game, congrats.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:46pm

This game is very hard and I actually like it :)

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Nice game, 6.5/10

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Name fits, you broke game balance :D . It is unreasonable hard. It is still fun and well done.

dix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Very cute game, but it is impossible to play D:
once i died cause i couldnt reach a portal that opened just 1s before...and if you miss the first portal you don't get a second chance cause you stayed too much on that world D:
I liked it, but it didn't like me apparently :c

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Overall nice concept, but like other said, it's really too hard...

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Really cute graphics and nice overall, but also hard as hell game xD it's also difficult for me 'cause I'm used to Binding of Isaac controls (WASD move, Arrows shoot), the opposite. Nice work!

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:46pm

that was very good! polished and fun good job!

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Awesome art, it's way too hard for me though :D Controls are pretty difficult to get used to, would be nice to use mouse to aim. Anyway, great job!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Art and sounds are amazing, the game is very polished. However I'd like the timer to be a bit more forgiving because right now the game just feels like waiting for the portal and running to the portal, not so much about strategy with the weapons and such.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Very good game :D I enjoyed it so much but I don't know why is "I Think I Broke Something" the game's name :D

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Hmm, was it me or was there a bug where the archer wasn't hitting the bats? Ended up dying because of it. Interesting little idea though, very fast paced & great art style & sound!

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Great looking and polished game! The portals closing too soon combined with "don't stay for too long" mechanic was a bit frustrating, tho.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Nice game! Congrats! I specially like graphics.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:11am

Neat idea, difficult though.
Nice job (:

donaldducky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:59am

Too hard to keep playing, but great graphics.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:02am

It's good a well-playable game.
However, I found the controls confusing: I'm used to using WASD to move, so I kept accidently attacking instead of moving. If you could have an option to switch this, that would be great.
Also, sometimes portals wouldn't appear until the last second, so it was pure luck that I would be at the right one before time runs out.
Other than those two things, it was really nice, good graphics, sounds, and gameplay

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Nice fast paced game with a nice art style. A bit hard but enjoyed it :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Great entry overall. Loved the art and music. Had difficulty understanding about the timer and why it ran out. I jumped through portals as soon as I could. Only made it maybe 5 worlds in? Good effort though. Very polished.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:14am

Nice entry but very difficult, you should let more time to swap worlds and there is too much enemies too

vividhelix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

Great entry, but felt a bit too difficult.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

Difficulty is off the chart, can't hold for longer than 15 sec, but graphics are cool, but no time to appreciate it.

Appocket says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice work, shooting via mouse would be cool it is a bit hard to control

Perjoka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:26pm

nice game, maybe a little too difficult.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Holy crap that's hard! The portals close a little too quick for me but I really like the graphics and sound. Well done!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I'll quote Fumiko, "The Art is nice, the difficulty is horror. :D " =) Lovely art and sound, punishing gameplay - but it's a great idea! With a smoother difficulty curve (and a slightly better introduction to the concepts), I could definitely play more. Great work for three days!

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

controls are weird and difficulty too hard too fast.
Funny music (even I could only hear the first notes...)

_Rilem says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I like the idea, the game is very fun to play but crazy difficult :P

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Very difficult, I think this would be awesome if the character's movement was more controlled and it had more friction.

I loved the graphics and the soundtrack/sfx were pretty stylish too. Good job! The theme could have featured more heavily though. Good luck!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Very cool game! I like the art and gameplay mechanic a lot, even if it was pretty hard. Great entry!

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Very addictive game! Really simple to play but hard to stop trying to better your time! Great art and music, really impressive entry!!

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:36am

Pretty fun shooter - one thing is that WASD and Arrows should definitely be swapped (like Binding of Isaac style controls).

H1S2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

It is very addictive. At the end I only got about 30seconds ^^It is really tough to master. Good job.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:11pm

It's a really fast and fun but repetitive game. Might be a good mobile game if you would like to release.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I liked the graphical style, and the gameplay had a good structure, but I found that survival often came down to a coin flip of whether the portal that opened was the one you were near. I also found myself wishing for a diagonal shot.

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Switch shooting to arrows and movement to WASD and I think it'd be a much more pleasing experience :).

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Aaaah it was a very stressful and challenging experience, yet not frustrating as I was playing in an instant again. Fun experience, would be great to be able to play in a larger map and have more room to move though. Great work!!

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Difficult but fun!

Love the visuals and character/world variety, and the fast paced gameplay. I wish there was a bit more time to reach a portal though. If I was on the wrong side when it opened, I'd rarely reach it :(

Thumbs up!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Rather difficult, but I like the graphics. Luckily orphans don't rely on my game playing skills to survive.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:12pm

@badlydrawnrod :D

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Wow, pretty hectic! Great graphics and music. One for the young'uns though, I'm am too old and too slow. :(

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:27pm

+ Art
+ music
- world switch to fast

ehtd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:16am

Excellent graphics

pansapiens says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:30am

Quite good fun - pretty punishing until you get used to jumping in portals whenever you get the chance. I could just be me, but I'd prefer if the shoot/move controls were switched, since after playing various FPSs my brain is hardwired to move with WASD - I had to swap hands so my arms were crossed ! Gamepad support (left stick move, right stick shoot) would be great for this too.
(Twitch streamed here: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/5029045 ~38 min)

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:31am

Although there are _many_ similarities, iT SEEMS better than mine, with some concept changes. Good done!!!

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:36am

Cool game !! Nice graphics and gameplay.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:40am

Nice art and style! I really enjoy gameplay and concept, but difficulty is very high(may be its a plus:) ).

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Nice game. I feel the timer might be up a bit quick though

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Incredible artwork backed up by a solid gameplay experience! A bit confusing, would have liked some more help up front but I picked it up eventually. Some music would have been a nice addition here as would some gibs or whatever when you unleash furry with your various characters. Seriously though, polish drips from this

YukonW says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Pretty hard, it's still kinda fun though! Good work!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Awesome game, brutally difficult. Think I died more from not camping on the warps than through any enemy skullduggery.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Awesome entry! I had trouble with shooting ASDW, but somehow managed. I would have liked mouse control instead - or something else (maybe shooting with one button and shooting to direction of travel).

...but that would have ruined one aspect of the game which clearly was about handling controls, remembering to press SPACE... and so on.

Nice gfx. Good gameplay. Theme fit the LD. Amazing job in just 72 hours. One of the most enjoyable jam entries I've tested so far.

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice artwork! The game is really chaotic and just puts you in the spot with little room to react. The game has several rules to follow (dont stay in one world too long, only one kind of attack will affect the enemies,etc) but you won't be able to get a grasp of it until the 5th time you try it.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:04pm

The different weapon mechanic was a bit confusing and there's definitely not enough time to get to the portal when it shows up, but I thought it was a nice concept. The combat would be a lot better if shooting were mouse controlled though.

Kate Kligman says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:44am

That was tough! Love the graphics.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:02am

+graphics

Pretty, but pretty small and pretty damn difficult!

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:31am

Very original art style, gameplay could have used a little tuning though. Some of the enemies had bullets fly right through them.

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Nice idea and art, but too difficult at the beginning. It takes time to master the controls correctly and survive more than seconds :P Great work.

renatopp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:01pm

It have a great visual, one of the bests so far. You guys could provide more information about the game in this page. The game is kinda frustrating, because you rely on your kill to survive and kill the monsters but the portal mechanics is basically randomly, if you aren't in the right side of the screen you lose. Great job anyway.

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Fun and difficult. I like the vector art style.

twintrite says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Looks good and plays fun but like everyone said, very difficult (but I guess I didn't get the whole concept yet). My survival time is around 21 seconds :)

gladers says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Good looking game, very difficult. A difficulty fix wouldnt be against the ludum dare rules i dont think.

Gametery says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Very hard indeed, nice music + great graphics !

Otrora Games says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I uploaded a new version with some difficulty fixes. You can try it in the post-jam version

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Great audio and graphics, but I thought that it was too difficult, and I didn't really like the time limit in each world.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:32pm

The three guys remind me of the Power Puff Girls.
Good and simple gameplay!

Otrora Games says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:02pm

@PaperBlurt haha best comment ever

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:54am

Fun game. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

I really enjoyed this, even tho it was a bit tuff. On my play again list. Thanks.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:10am

Fun little game but controls may be broken because most of the time I couldn't move diagonally. It wasn't also very clear which hero I got to use to defeat a given type of enemy. Thought it was color related but apparently not.
Aside from that a solid entry, fun and addictive!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:21pm

This was cool! Loved the art style. Gameplay was fun, though I think an easier learning level would have been nice. Also, it never seemed to let me move diagonally which was strange. But I enjoyed it!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Pretty high difficulty but that aside a really good entry

Transmit says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Extremely difficult, but it looks great, and a pretty fun. I managed to survive 49 seconds. I didn't quite feel like my attacks were hurting the enemies.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]