Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Girl, Alien and Robots

by Glint Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#524Graphics3.14
#758Humor2.05
#791Audio2.22
#943Fun2.59
#1015Overall2.69
#1022Mood2.30
#1045Theme2.36
#1176Innovation1.89

Comments

Sharkxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:13am

hmm

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:13am

Very good game, awesome platformer with cool graphics ;D.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

I little bit accelerated. Very hard to control the player. I can't see references to "connected worlds" in the game (i can't see the alternative alien world from the screenshots entry.

togie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

There were some really good sprites such as the robots and explosions and i like the idea of the character moving back when shooting but i feel it was a little plain, great job though!

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17am

Awesome, at first i was taken aback by the jumping behaviour, but it is really fun to play and well done, thumbs up!

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17am

There should be death counter.i died countless times :D

4KbShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17am

A cute game. Runs a bit laggy on my browser, but that could be on my end. You might want to add a bit of description to the page to explain to people how the girl and the aliens are connected.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18am

Pink version much nicer ;)

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

Fun little platformer. The jump is a little too quick and so is the death restart so it's sometimes hard to tell what killed me. Not sure what the connection was between the girl and the alien - would like to see that expanded on.

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

Nice platformer, although I feel like jump and hitboxes could've been much less sensitive.

Yasho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

The jumping is very rapid and paired with plarforming and respawning in the beginning when dying makes losing very frustrating. However, the art is pretty good.

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:23am

Very amusing, The gravity is too high though ^^

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26am

The last level was tedious, but I always enjoy a good challenge, there was a bit of fps fluctuations, but other than that, good job (:

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

Cool game! Loved the graphics. The only thing that slightly got to me was the jump sound. It may have just been a tad too loud. I'm not too sure why Kedume Bits couldn't see the Alien world - I had no trouble getting there. I think it was the final level.

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:34am

(-) The jumps are too fast, which makes it difficult to aim correctly.(-) The lack of music is really hurting the game. (+) Nice graphics overall. (+) Game is quite enjoyable.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48am

Really liked the graphics on this, and the gameplay was fun. A few people have said about the accelerated feel but I quite like it=. Really well done!

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

I liked it , just would be nice to see a smoother jump I think

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

The jump is indeed a little too abrupt, although the trajectory is nice and making the height variable depending on the length of the button press was a good design decision.

The design of level 2 is also well-considered, being fairly open and allowing the player to figure out the best approaches (good basis for a time-trial mode perhaps?). Could maybe have done with some indication of how many robots remained as well. Level 3 could have done with checkpoints - having to do all that platforming again when the last robot kills you and sends you back to the start is fairly merciless ;) .

When falling down along the edge of a wall, the character becomes stuck in the 'falling' animation and is unable to jump. There also appears to be an invisible floor between the tallest 2 'pillars' on the left-hand side of level 2.

Nice touch with the recoil! Love the ray gun as well ;) .

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

I like the look, but the fysics are awkward. Makes it unnecesarily hard.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Nice graphics, better jumping physics and some music and this could be very good.

Appocket says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11pm

A bit hard to control but looks good. Also a 9 slice Pattern for the tiles would look great

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Je je je. .. this game is sooooo cute. I like difficult gaming, so it's ok for me. Remember old platform times (sms). Please put music. . Will be much better.

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

The game was fun to play! Unfortunately it was not very challenging. It could be harder! And as mentioned before, I dont see how this is 'connected worlds'. But a very nive game over all!

idovingx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I would preferred to be able to be a hit a few times before dying. One hit kill was a bit extreme, but nice the enemies didn't respawn. Nice work overall!

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Nice pixel art, but in my opinion the jump is a little bit to fast.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Quite nice, the platforming just needs some tweaking (the jumping felt way too fast).

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice graphics, specially with enemies. It might be better with a slower jump, it is really easy to die :D

The recoil of the gun was a great detail!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Nice, great graphics. the controls were not all that responsive for some reason(could be my computer)

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44am

That was a lot harder than I want to admit but I overall great game!

Frump says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:54am

The jump is much too fast. This felt harder than 1001 spikes to me.

I couldn't distinguish some of the dirt walls from the background.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36am

Nice game, It felt too fast for me on few occasions. When I respawned I sometimes did not know where I am. Whether it is a new level and so on. Overall its a nice platformer :) Good Job!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Yea! Nice platformer! But on first time I thinked Robots are friends, they smile! Lol Nice graphics, and.. the sound of the jump..could be lower. But great job!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35pm

It's a shame that you rushed a bit with the
main controls and jumping mechanics as it
detracts from the experience of an otherwise
very cool game. It was all going so fast and
I couldn't feel in control of my characters :(
Love the alien design, very cute!

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Cool title! Girl with a spacegun, robots and aliens are always a nice combination. During playing I had problems with the control, I think it needs some improvement. I didn't managed to play the game very far.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33pm

It's hard to control the player but is a fun game.

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Cute! Good work!

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

I like your pixel art.

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33pm

I beat the game, woho :D Fun platformer since it's so challanging! Love the insane jumpspeed :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36am

I will echo the sentiments of the other reviewers, The graphics were great, the game is fun but the jumping is erratic and there does need to be a 1-2 second pause after dying but all in all you have one nice platformer here. Good Job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice animations and pixel art.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:45am

Nice 48hr effort. Could use some work on jump physics and platforming, but it's a solid base with nice art. You should work on it some more and see where it leads.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Nice. But it could use a bit more polish

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]