Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

4 Dimensions

by Crosstales - Jam Entry

Story:

The wizard Bluedalf tried out a new spell which - according to the book - was designed to create a clone of the sorcerer. The reason why Bluedalf wanted a clone of himself is unknown and, as it turns out, not important. Because he failed miserably!
Instead of cloning himself he was split up into four Bluedalfs (merely shadows of himself) which were each transported into different dimensions. Now he has to find a way to find the exit without losing any one of his four selves.


Controls:

Use WASD/arrow keys to move the four Bluedalfs. All Bluedalfs move the same way, but they each have different obstacles. You have to keep an eye on all four of them in order to avoid all traps. There is only one way to complete each level, so be careful!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#204Audio(Jam)3.43
#218Theme(Jam)3.52
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#345Innovation(Jam)3.11
#378Fun(Jam)3.04
#465Humor(Jam)2.21
#474Graphics(Jam)3.15
#517Mood(Jam)2.85

Comments

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48am

Really difficult but also really fun.

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50am

Great graphics and gameplay.
The directional movements are a bit hard to get.
Very fun and polished for the amount of time given.

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09am

The controls are a bit rough, it's hard to get that you only rotate when you're moving forward. The background graphics are amazing, I'm really enjoying the music too really fits the mood of the game.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23am

Really nice idea, good job.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28am

Looks promising, but the controls don't really react to what I'm doing. I can't move, I can't even rotate, then sometimes they move, even if I don't press a key.

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30am

Nice graphics, especially the menu design.
Music is great and creates a nice mood.
The gameplay is fun although a bit hard, mostly because of the (imo) slightly awkward movement controls :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35am

I liked the concept (it has similarities with my game). Controls felt a little bit rough, but added some extra difficulty. Nice entry!

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19am

Difficult, but fun! Good job

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35pm

LOVED the presentation! In addition to the graphics, the transitions, as well as smaller things like the UI reactions were top-notch!

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I might not have liked the controls, but I liked everything else ;)

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Thanks for the feedback! Yes the controls are a bit difficult, but it is not supposed to be too easy :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Naice game, but if the controlls were easier the game would be a lot better!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Fun little game. The controls are a bit slow and heavy though.

Knowledge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Controls are excellent for game. It's a bit of hard, but not very much. I would like see this game fully finished, so post Ludum Dare game would be good.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Been trying to play this, but first few times it froze my chrome browser and then the other time I got upto selecting level 1 but the loading stayed at 0%. Will have to come back and try it on another computer.

enteagd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Lots of fun, although controls were very awkward!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05pm

My Macbook can't handle this for some reason, too laggy. I'm gonna try it on my PC when I get home for sure! :)

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Great idea but i think that the weakness came from the control (who looks like more set for a plateformer), and the background who is beautiful but strangely disconnected.

For the rest, great music, good idea, simple, efficient, and an amazing level design, i think that you could found a way to make the levels procedural.

A well polished game, with a great concept who is in the theme.

Really nice... and bring us MORE LEVELS! ;)

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:17am

Cool concept with nice art and music. My biggest gripe with the game is that the control scheme is really unintuitive. I think it would be better if I could turn in place.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Thank you for the reviews! Yes I see that the controls are difficult... When I showed the game to my friend for the first time, the main thing she said was that the controls were difficult (at that time level 3 was level 1) and she nearly rage-quitted the game. :) After that I adjusted the level difficulties but left the controls as they were, because if the controls were easier the whole concept of the game would be out of whack. I will try - for a future release - to make an easier mode (turn in place).
Cheers and game on! :-)

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Very nice idea ! The controls on keyboard were a bit hard (forced to keep walking to change direction) but after a while it made a great part of the fun !

Great game. Good job to all the team ;)

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Cool little game, I get why you made the controls like this and I think it works. Nice little ditty as well.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:46pm

hard but nice game :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:10am

Instead of complete black it might be nice to see some texture on the different floors. The death zones are well defined but the sharp edges could be smoothed perhaps? Maybe with a couple pixel transparent gradient.

The arrow over the head helps to identify the direction, yet blocks the great character art. Maybe put it in the ground in front of the character?

I liked the different levels of difficulty since you could simply continue on even though some of your characters may have died.

Putting death right in front of the player on level 3 is a little harsh.

Overall great job.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

Web version FPS is too low (chrome) :(

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:47am

Don't know why, but the web version seems to work best with Firefox...
I blame Unity for that ;-)

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Short and sweet - make more levels :)

Would have liked if I could turn while standing still, but I suppose it added to the challenge.

Fun game :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Hi there. Level never loaded - just hung at 0%. Not rated yet. Chrome/W8.1

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Please use firefox for that game, it doesn't seem to work too well with others unfortunately

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

I tooks me time to understand I had to walk while I turn. But after that control were ok. I only made the 2x first level but had fun with it. It think you should gameover on first death, note sure there's much sense in finishing a level with 1 or 2 bluedalfs...

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:46am

Really nice UI elements (the buttons, backgrounds, etc). Controlling the wizard guy was like driving a car. You should be allowed to turn without moving forward or backwards.

dix says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice game :D

Hippolyta says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:54pm

We created a new homepage and now it also works perfectly on Chrome... :-)

Enjoy!

Praron says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Uncomfortable movement, but good game.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:56pm

It's pretty basic, and the controls are more difficult than they really need to be. That may just be my bias though, I tend not to like rotation controls unless the arc of the rotation is part of the puzzle. I would have like to see some more interaction between the four worlds, like buttons in one that open things in another, something to make them feel more connected. The graphics were pretty good, and I liked the music. Not bad overall.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:54am

Not being able to turn except while moving foward was a bit annoying, but otherwise it was a decent game. More levels would have been nice, but the ones you had were good and sufficiently challenging without being overly difficult.

Sascha says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Really liked the concept, though the difficult controls added a rather strenuous element to a game that already takes most of your concentration. A simple WASD directional movement would have made the game so much more fun overall! Apart from that though, I liked it.
Also really liked the graphics, and the BG music is superb!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]