Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Legacy of Lamas

by Cell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD + Left mouse button play.

Pink shopkeeper sells distance score and resets your world to x - 1, also takes 10 of your health.
Red shopkeeper sells damage upgrades for 10 health.

7 hours and 32 minutes used on code. (game maker 8.0)
17 Minutes used on art. (paint.net)
4 minutes used on music. (FL Studio)
8 minutes used on sound effects. (bfxr)

- Olav (@Cellusious)
Cellusious.com
twitter: @cellusious
gmail: cellusious@gmail.com

The source is there for compo rules, and is not for other uses.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#5Graphics4.61
#118Mood3.62
#204Audio3.34
#407Humor2.55
#586Overall3.18
#781Theme2.90
#827Innovation2.80
#850Fun2.70

Comments

Stouty_ says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Not sure I understand the concept or what to do, but I can't stop looking at that art!

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:53pm

same here. I just kept clicking on the warp cores, wasn't really sure of what else to do. I really like the art, though! Excellent aesthetic.

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

As always, impeccable art and theme. Great job.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

I definitely feel as if I've missed something. The game is very interesting from a visual standpoint, though. I'll be interested to see what's next!

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57am

I really like the art and it was entertaining.

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12am

This is so great. everything feels great; motions, sounds, music, responsive controls. It is mysterious, I feel like I was in danger of upgrading myself to death, and what were those red and white ones that came closer when i clicked them? My confusion doesn't matter though, because the feel of the game was so good that it would be pleasurable to figure it all out in time. Love it. Good job.

rubna says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

woah, looks/feels/sounds amazing! you should totally add a fullscreenmode ;-;. i didn't really get the gameplay though. I just kind of killed stuff and clicked the green orb to go to the next world.
...not that i disliked doing even that, though xD Nice job man!

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24am

All in this game is a true expression of art, the mood, the confusion, the gameplay itself.

apiotrw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31am

Great art just the gameplay is too repetitive for me :)

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:13am

Looks and plays awesome!!

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:20am

Really liked the graphics! It's really amazing that you managed to make all the art in 17 minutes. But the music felt a little repetative, and it took me a while to figure out what I was supposed to do

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

I feel like my Lama is going backwards! Super art/atmosphere, just a bit hard to tell what's going on sometimes

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04am

Very pretty game and plays well, it's just not very clear what to actually do.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36am

The game is so beautiful, I love the style and atmosphere you've created.

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

Got to world 6 - 4 or something. Love the art style. The missile launcher things on the side weren't very obvious till I obliterated everything on screen. I feel this game needed to be harder faster, then I would be hooked for ages.

Overall, an awesome game though. Still can't get over the pixels :D

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Looks promising! I will play it, as soon as I'm back on my Windows Laptop.

seagaia says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

nice job on the procedural gen during the short timespan.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Awesome! Who needs to understand it really. Let it just be what it is :D

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Game likes to crash when I'm collecting.. the stuff? Like when you kill something. Speaking of which, I don't know exactly what's going on. I guess I'm just killing things and advancing. So, pretty sparse gameplay.

The game is beautiful though, sound and music fit well, and the overall mood is really nice.

I like how it says "the warp core connects us all" in between every single level, like a mantra or something.
Maybe it's minor but, it feels significant to me.
Like a hint at an overarching plot that's kind of hidden behind the scenes. I dunno.

tulevik.EU says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

One of the better looking entries I've come across until now. Confused by the gameplay though, much like others here :)

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Perfect to me.... the aesthetic and atmosphere are awesome. This game is unique. really i loved it.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I have no idea what this was and I loved it.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Nice artwork, as usual. Also cool to have the fast red things to give the world some threat. Weapon was cool too, though I would have loved to hear it... like a tearing sound for launch and some boombastic impact sound =D ... oh and the music loop is a little short ... congrats.

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Really great graphics ! I didn't understood what's going on, but it was fun !

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Not... entirely sure what's going on, but the graphics are excellent!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

The theme and art is good as always. but there isn't really anything to do other than to click the orbs... it's not really what i would call fun... there is also some glitches including walking in space. but if you get an objective in there then maybe it'll become something much better :)

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

This is a cool game, but the warp crystals that end the levels were a bit harder to activate than I would have liked. I liked the music.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Well this was weird as fuck... I loved it :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Graphics are superb, very good entry.

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Nice graphics and atmosphere, but i don't get the game play mechanics.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05am

Love the art. The walking animation is so characterful.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04am

I feel like this could be improved post-compo to be a really cool action shooting game, but right now it feels like a seed.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Really liked it! I suppose the red things should attack the player but even as it was I found the game very enjoyable and relaxing. The only thing that annoyed me a bit was the collision code for the player. Amazingly beautiful!

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Shiny!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Can't understand what I should to do. Just travel throught portals?

Zathalos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Really awesome art but lacking gameplay. I see where you were going with it though. It would be an interesting rogue-like brawler game if you added more elements. Good job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Looks great and the music added a lot, but after realizing I could just click on the crystal things to go the next level I didn't really bother to move my character around at all.

I liked all the different creatures but I wasn't sure why I was shooting them. I think it would have been more interesting if there was no combat and you just explored this trippy world.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07pm

As soon as i saw a screenshoot i want to play it, really good graphics and nice music too. The problem is game mechanic, The game piques my curiosity but after a while it's boring. Also, at some point the game crashes and closes :(

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Gorgeous visual style! Oddly enough it made me feel like I wanted to know more about the world.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:04am

The visuals and sounds are pretty solid.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41am

Interesting, but what am I doing> Definitely some of the nicest graphics I have seen this LD.

damrem says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:57am

Beautiful!

Gaeel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42am

Not entirely sure what I'm supposed to be doing.
I shot things, I warped around, something slapped me, eventually the game crashed...

Looks proper neat though...

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:10pm

You made the art in 17 minutes! It's beautiful. I'm not sure what was going on, beyond shooting the white scurrying things and avoiding the purple kangaroos(?), but I liked it.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Very cool entry. Art was excellent. The main character Lama was beatifully animated. Well done. Fit the theme. Not sure what to say about the game mechanics: it was about shooting enemies, and gradually getting tougher.

Well done.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43pm

The art is excellent, as is the game feel, I just wish there were something to do with it all!

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

I have no idea what I just played, but it was pretty great. Pretty well rounded and interesting. Outstanding artwork, as usual sir :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:09am

This game is super cool!

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

The one L lama,
he's a priest.
The two L llama,
he's a beast.
And I will bet
my silk pyjama
There isn't any
three L lllama.
- Ogden Nash

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:48am

Very nice mood and stylisation. I liked a lot, especially fact that art was made for 17 minutes. Very impressive. Got to 7-th world btw %)

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

First comment really summed it up for me! :D Amazing art and quirky gameplay. Collision possibly seemed a bit offset, but that is being really pedantic on my part. Well done. :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:11pm

boring

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:11am

Beautiful visuals.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:30am

I have no idea what I just played, but I LIKE IT A LOT! (loud shouting)

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:59pm

The art is cool, but I had no idea what to do. Which, I guess, I'm not alone in. ^^"

Ditto says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:00pm

I have no idea what I'm doing?

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Gorgeous game, as usual. Took me a bit to realize what the shopkeepers actually were because I wasn't watching my health at all lol. Made it to level 8-2.

runvs says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:21am

Some more tipps or hints would have been nice. Though graphics are excellent as well as sound. though the music tends to repeat a little bit to often.
Great Mood!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:53am

Awesome entry, but not sure I get the gameplay - I just get to the core and then get to the next level - is there more to it? Art is amazing, kudos for getting it done in just 17 mins!

goerp says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Things moved, things died, things exploded, walked, made noise.
Lots of them in intruiging patterns and colors across lots and lots of worlds.

While the hupnotizing drone continued.

I like it a lot, but I don't know why :)

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Beautiful art and music but... I don't get what's the point :D

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Maybe you should have spent 15 minutes on art instead because the functionality is pretty bad.

plash says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:03am

Is 1.11 only bug fixes or was it created during the compo as well? I've been playing the first one.

Hard to see what's going on with this small resolution.

The character is able to move one whole tile outside of the ground.. in any direction. Some parts of the music do not belong. It sounds like it's part of the game world (e.g., the player taking damage or enemies chirping), but it's not. I didn't realize that until it repeated a few times when I wasn't doing anything.

I don't think I was able to find either of the shopkeepers, but I suspect the red thing that floated towards you and replicated your.. missiles was supposed to be one of them.

Overall, I'm really not sure what this thing is, nor what purpose the face-backwards character has.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Great art but pretty unchallenging and confusing gameplay

01010111 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:32am

Fantastic art and audio! I love the game feel too :)

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:21am

I quite like the walking animation, even they it doesn't look like walking at all. :)

I feel like this game needs a goal, and/or an end point though.

It'd be cool if you got points for beating higher levels, and also for higher worlds. Like 1-5 might have you 25 points, 2-5 might give you 30 points, and 1-7 give you 49 points or something. So you balance between going to higher levels or losing health and starting over. Could be potential for a really fun mechanic

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]