Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Untangle~!

by Konrad Zegis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with: C++ and Allegro5 game library
IDE: Visual Studio 2010
Graphics: all done by me in paint and gimp (that's why they looks like that >_>)

Sit inside multidimensional police tank and close weird connections between worlds!

Use arrows to move around and mouse to shoot, but beware of monsters lurking around. Some are from other worlds, and some just gone crazy!

There's no sound, sorry!

IMPORTANT notes to recompile:
(1) I didn't include allegro SDK with source.
(2) Please change allegro references in project properties. I don't know why, but Visual Studio don't compile with relative path in properties.

I know it is not as great as other games but I hope you'll still have at least some fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#681Theme3.08
#827Humor1.93
#1100Mood1.95
#1161Fun2.00
#1169Innovation1.92
#1184Overall2.27
#1188Graphics1.75

Comments

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

A very short game and seems to lag a lot. Not very innovative but I like the way you approached the theme.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Minimalistic, but well... has some potential

igoramendola says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

I liked the idea of different worlds connected existing in the same place, and they could disappear through a "switch" (key). It fits well to the theme. If you decide to keep working on it, it would be interesting if you put continuos enemies and make a bigger map with more worlds/connections :)

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:42am

Interesting, good idea!

TinyHat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Wow, I don't know what happened, but I could not play it was too laggy. Don't worry I didn't rate it ^^

doos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Finally! A game I could complete! Tile engine, different worlds, hit detection.. Solid programming.

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

very laggy and short :( but the general idea is good!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Nicely done! You had a solid concept and brought it to life. The story you're telling is simple, but successful. Work on refining controls and movement to avoid the choppy feeling.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Finished it but was to laggy :(

You should improve it and add random spawns would make a great arcade game, but first fix the lag ;)

I enjoyed the idea :)

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:20am

Had fun playing this, although it was a bit laggy for me, too. For paint and gimp, the graphics were nice :)

caranha says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:50pm

You said that the game is laggy, but in my machine it is actually way too fast! The monsters kill me before I have the chance to do anything.

This means that probably you are not frame-limiting your code. I am not familiar with the Allegro library, but you should count how much time each logic/render loop is taking, and use this time to limit the number of logic/render loops that you do in a time period.

Good luck next LD! :-)

Konrad Zegis says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:31pm

@caranha - Thank you! I utterly forgot about frame-limiting!

DarkCart says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Hmmmm.. this game is... interesting to say the least.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The lack of smooth movement is pretty strange. Impressive you programmed this in C++. Good job!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:25am

Good old Allegro, huh. Remember using that back in my university days.

The game is really short, but I think its biggest drawback is that the movement is pretty laggy. Looks like things move on a tile-by-tile basis rather than pixels, which makes it choppy. But the first game I ever made with Allegro was about the same, so I can't hold that against you. :)

I liked the idea of closing connections, though. Hope to see you in future LDs!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]