Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monochrome

by Retr0spectrum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Monochrome is a game written from scratch in JavaScript using the canvas element. No external libraries were used.

In each level, you must first find the teleporter. You can use the teleporter to switch between two worlds, which each have their own unique properites. To complete a level, you must collect all the coins.

In the "colour" world you can see and collect coins, and there is less gravity. However, you can only breathe in the "normal" world, and staying in the "colour" world requires power.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#290Audio3.18
#377Theme3.48
#515Mood3.04
#523Overall3.24
#545Fun3.06
#551Humor2.33
#663Innovation3.03
#727Graphics2.85

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Not bad! It got frustrating, and I quit after dying to spikes after getting past the "keep trying" part on level 2. Would be nice if there was some way to replenish power (maybe there is and I didn't get to it).

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:20am

level 2 is so hard x_x at least, add a checkpoint or save, because playing the level 1 all the time is boring x)

KeyboardFire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:49am

Ha! I beat it! Take that, you... you... weird floating circle spike things!

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

Nice little game and pretty challanging. I like challanging games but not being able to replay the level I already reached lowered my "Fun" rating a bit ;)

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Well, I reached level 3.

The real problem with the game is that you have to consume power to find coins that could be ANYWHERE. IMO this is a serious design flaw, even more when there's barely enough power to finish a level when you already know where the coins are. You need to keep pressing M randomly to find out the coins and you end up wasting all the power.

This actually could make for an interesting "frustrating/fun" experience IF I didn't had to replay every level again after I fail.

I usually do like the "Go back to level 1" old school mechanic, but it's not fair when it's basically impossible to beat a level on the first try (and probably the 2nd, 3rd, 4th....)

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Its fun and challenging, although the teleporter didnt work in level 2...
Maybe add a postmortem where power is replenishing over time or sth ;)

lantto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Solid platform mechanics which feel nice. Simple but good graphics and music/sounds. I really like the idea of a parallel world you can access on the fly. I think you can do a lot with the concept. It's annoying that you need to replay from the start since it's pretty challenging and requires trial'n'error. Good job!

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Nice and challenging game. The lack of checkpoints is quite frustrating, though.

Tate says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Good stuff! Loved the simplistic nature of the game and it adds just enough to keep the separate worlds different. Love it!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Hi there. Amazing for no library use... 'correct' physics feel to the platform work too, sound quite overpowering. Shame that power doesn't regenerate slowly, easy to get stuck with none. Good job!

jthistle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Hey Retr0spectrum, I'm the person who made Chatter :)

Aglavra says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I liked the interpretation of the theme, but the game seems to be not balanced: the player has to few power and doesn't have checkpoints, so the game gets boring already on second level for me. If the power would restore slowly with time, the game would be better, I think.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Wow, quite challenging managing air and power. A good game.

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Good game, but restarting from the first level is frustrating. Well done though.

micahcowan says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Yay, I won! :D ...Game was pretty hard, especially that jump in level 2.

Really solid job. No external libraries or anything, only 48 hours... impressive!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Pretty good use of the theme there. I like how you have to manage your use of the teleporter as you can do things in the colour world but can't stay in it for too long. My only complaint is that there's no true restart button (since F5 basically just refreshes the game page) so it's a bit frustrating when I get stuck on a level (due to having no teleporter power) and have to start again all the way from level 1.

cudabear says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:17pm

This was a very interesting platformer. I'm not entirely sure I liked how the teleporter worked, since it rewarded you just going around and tapping it to look for coins. Plus it punished you greatly if you used it to jump without actually needing to. Futhermore, going back to level 1 when dieing was pretty frustrating. The art style and audio, however, was awesome!

Kate Kligman says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Loved the concept and how it worked with the theme! Graphics are cutely simple.

Had some issues with the controls my first game, but I could see this working well with the keys mapped to an xbox controller. Also had some gameplay issues: I was unable to enter the color world after staying too long on the right side so I couldn't complete the second jump puzzle.

Overall it's a good game demo, the cross-world puzzles are neat, and I would love to play more with some additional polish. This is really good for for a 48-hour jam.

INC$D021 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:04pm

So simple, and yet so hard :) Very enjoyable game..

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Cool game! Love the concept! I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/DOSk1bi234E

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]