Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connect-the-worlds

by gatinmnsok - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Create the largest network of worlds. Add the new world to the existing network by clicking a world that is already in the network. But such that no two adjacent worlds have the same color. Also, a world has a maximum number of connections, the remaining number of possible connections is shown as a number in the world. Furthermore, connecting lines may not cross other lines but they may cross worlds.

The game is written in javascript and uses the html5 canvas. For optimal performance, I would recommend chrome.

I'm looking forward to your feedback on the game :)

*edit: Thank you for your feedback, I will be updating a post-compo version. It can be played at http://dropproxy.com/f/90E

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#266Theme3.65
#289Fun3.38
#446Innovation3.30
#586Overall3.18
#743Humor2.07
#823Mood2.68
#946Graphics2.47

Comments

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

simple but really engaging and addictive idea. great little game :)

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25am

fun minigame for sure! Not sure the purpose of the time element because I view this more as a thinking game then a reaction game? other then that, its pretty enjoyable! good mobile game! GJ!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36am

Simple is beautiful, sometimes. This is neat, really nice puzzle concept and actually quite hard to not end up crossing existing lines. Well done! (worked great in Chrome)

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

Very nice idea! I'd love to have something like this on my iPad. I agree with TeddyNashor, it would make more sense that the game starts off populated with more worlds and no time limit (or at least a game mode option), then the player will as "what's the most optimal way to connect these?" rather than just reacting to each new planet that spawns.

Also the way you interact with the UI to connect worlds doesn't feel right, I thought you had to drag-click to connect.

Aaants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice job! A simple and innovative idea well executed.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58am

I like the concept but it's seems tha is a little bit random that you could "win" the game.

grifdail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I love the concept. But a bit more sign and feedback would be cool, for instance a line from the new node to the mouse would show what you are linking, and if you can link to node. Also i think the timing is too fast.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

I like the timing element, really. Just could do with a little more indication of where the new one is - I think the pressure would be enough even so. Fun, regardless!

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Creative and simple, I had fun. Good job. I would definitely have liked an indicator of where the new world is. Sometimes I would lose half my timer looking for it if it was a tiny one that appeared on the other side of the screen.

Sverik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Nice game, you definitely succeeded in making the player feel under pressure when time is ticking so fast :)
It would be nice if the size of the world would mean something, e.g. the number of remaining connections.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Great concept and engaging gameplay!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Addictive. I read the instructions, but somehow the "can't do same colors" thing threw me for a while anyway.

The timer's too fast. Aaaaaaugh! :D

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Very fun. I wish the new dot flashed or something because I lost a few times because I could not find it until it was too late. Also, a leaderboard would be great.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10am

Fascinating idea! I couldn't help but wonder what the optimum move was in each case.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Hi there... Nice mechanic. After a while finding the new world - when they are all minute - is the real problem... perhaps flash it for 1/2 second after placing ? Shame no sound. Good job!

gnerkus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:03am

The time limit put me under a lot of pressure. This could be a great game for smartphones.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:39pm

great, simple puzzle! i thing a highcore would be great ;)

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:37am

Fast-paced puzzle game that's surprisingly fun. I think however that the newly spawned worlds should be easier to spot - maybe blink or pulse for a second or two after being created so that the limited time can be spent trying to find a good planet nearby.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]