Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital Cargo

by Bozwellox - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Orbital Cargo is a resource management game set in space. Use an array of spaceships to haul cargo from planet to planet and try to make some galacticoins in the process. Ship important goods to civilizations and find the resources that factories need to make them or find fuels to reduce your losses but remember to look out for rogue asteroids.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#436Theme3.41
#582Audio2.67
#628Overall3.14
#761Humor2.04
#833Innovation2.79
#839Graphics2.66
#860Fun2.69
#936Mood2.52

Comments

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Quite complicated, I was nearly turning a profit until I hit escape >.< its complexity is very impressive given the time frame, well done!

FineSpun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I'm impressed with the game mechanics.. Good Job!

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Chrome refused to download the zip, telling me it was malicious. Can you check what you have included?

Killbert says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

It's complexity is it's best feature as well as it's greatest downfall.

AndyGusto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

It took a while to figure out how to give orders to ships, but this has potential! The controls are a little on the clunky side, and the view of the planet system is pretty limited, which makes it difficult to find and set up trade routes. I would love to see a version where it's easier to set up your fleet!

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38pm

@slowfrog I don't know how the Chrome antivirus software works but I presume it checks the zip for malicious files. The zip contains lots of different and unusual file types such as exe, dll, pyc and pdn so that could be the problem. I'm looking into how I can prevent this in the future but for the time being may I suggest you use another browser or attempt to temporarily disable Chromes antivirus software

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I liked this game a lot. Huge amount of work in 48h. Bit of a learning curve, so must be played longer than 5 mins.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30am

Nice and complex game - something you can get a little lost in (in a good way) :)
Some sort of introduction to understand how things work would have been nice, took me a while to figure out how to use the different ships and planets.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Hard at the first look, but more interesting than some management game i see in this ludum dare.

Actually the name inside the game are pretty clear, and when we start to saw many ships flying around the game start to look great.

The main issue is the GUI, and the navigation in space who is not intuitive.

It lack of contextual menu, clik on a ship to give him order, and not "select N/A an then select the planet", same for information about the planet, maybe with an overlay text.

And also (maybe it's already there but i did saw it) a way to draw the path of any ship (when you move over the name of a ship in the list for example).

For me that's the main issue, because to play this game you have to love those kind of game, that's all.

And as a management game, it's pretty fun! :)

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

I also have the chrome says it's malicious issue

Perhaps move it to an alternative (ex. google drive) or just try renaming the file, for some reason renaming fixed mine.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:36am

Nice mechanics and complex! I like these types.

Boberro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:34am

Transport tycoon and vacuum of space. Two most sucking-in things in the universe in one game.
I tried for some time, but oil tanker going from oil planet to propellant factory never gave me any income, while filling planets production.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:07pm

If you didn't send over a mining ship first it won't work since they set up wells to make oil planets useable

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Great take on the theme, though the gameplay was a bit slow and hard to manage. Zooming out would help and frankly the asteroids are hard to avoid so they just add an unnecessary penalty that doesn't add anything to the gameplay. Other than that, I found myself spending way more time with this that I thought I would :)

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Very complex game! I could play this for hours, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]