Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape

by Budda - Jam Entry

Escape is a puzzle game about trying to escape the lonely island you are on.

This game was made in 72 hours for the Jam by Budda (http://buddat.net) and Taufiq (https://github.com/taufiqkh) using Java, Slick2D, and assets from opengameart.org and freesound.org.

Unfortunately we ran out of time to add more levels, as the mapping process is slightly time consuming, but the game is at a point where we are happy with it.
We hope you enjoy playing!

Extract the zip and run 'game.bat' (or 'game.sh' on linux, or 'game.command' on mac) to start it.
Controls: Arrows/WASD, Space, Esc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#135Mood(Jam)3.62
#186Overall(Jam)3.50
#220Fun(Jam)3.32
#229Audio(Jam)3.39
#231Graphics(Jam)3.75
#330Innovation(Jam)3.13
#369Humor(Jam)2.45
#483Theme(Jam)2.94

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I liked the mood you set. See how expansive the world got was a big wow moment for me. Great job! :)

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

run on mac?

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07am

sh didn't worked in mac. Fortunately I know how to run jars. A nice game, just didn't like I have to collide items from left/right, also sometimes the movement didn't felt smooth

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

hmm running game.bat didn't work! :(

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:08am

We've fixed up the package so it'll hopefully run fine on mac now without any messing around.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12am

@Stepwise: Make sure you extract everything before trying to run game.bat.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05am

The game is really interesting, my only major issue with it is that the enemies do not pause when a text box appears which freezes the player so that you end up dying :(

varun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26am

Cool puzzle-like mechanics. Though it was strange that the axes were destroyed.

shimage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00am

I won! It is good mood and zombies pressure feared me.

neosam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09am

Win! Love it!

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21am

Very nice work on the graphics. I loved the style, just wish the hit detection and controls were a little tighter.

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34am

The epic music when the portal opens is the best

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:46am

Nice work. The world looked very good. I really liked the great scull on the floor. The only thing that confused me first, was the switching music when I opened the first and the second portal, because fighting music starts and no enemys were around.

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:45am

my favorite bit was when i found the cool skull buried in the sand. nice stuff artist

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Doesn't run on Mac.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Cant run, sorry =(

Budda says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:05am

Have added a second link to a version which should run on Mac.

Shivur says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:03am

Awesome and cute little game.

OinkIguana says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:49am

Wall collisions were very sticky. If those were improved this game would be amazing. For now, it's just great.

geoisgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:53am

I tried running the .bat file. The command prompt opened for a moment and disappeared. Nothing happened. I'm using Windows 7 64-bit.

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice core mechanic, and the music was great. I didn't have any issues running the Mac version.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I like the puzzle aspect to it. But the "getting stuck on walls" collision is a deal breaker. You should try to fix that.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Couldn't run on windows 7 =(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]