Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eye scape Escape the Eye

by danidre14 - Jam Entry

Storyline---------------------------------------------------

There was once peace, when one day, out of the blue, a giant ball slowly descends to Earth. Eye! Because of the atmosphere, and increase in technology, the planet was able to slow down before landing, and therefore made no hard impacts. Suddenly eyeball aliens flew, jumped and ran everywhere! Some flying eyes carried off scattered humans to the planet, while military forces fought them off! You, being one in the military (undercover) snuck onto the planet with your plasm, since most of the aliens were on Earth, and found the core generator (the thingy that makes the planet fly!). Turning it on, it began to chargeup, soon to fly off, never to return, and it made a loud earpiercing noise. The creatures heard it and all dashed onto Eye, for there was no way to turn the core off. Now, for you to escape and return to Earth, you must run and fight for your life, because there's no easy way out! Survive all the creepy levels to get back home! It won't be easy!

Controls----------------------------------------------------

W or Up Arrow (^) = Jump
A or Left Arrow (<) = Backward
D or Right Arrow (>) = Forward
C or P "(Toggled)" = Crawl (Changed)
Space or O (Hold) = Shoot
Update: C or P (Hold) = Crawl

Klise-------------------------------------------------------

Klise, pronounced as kleys, are different items that help you out throughout the game.
Red klise gives health.
Blue klise gives big bullets.
Green klise gives shockwaves.

Tips--------------------------------------------------------
Data is saved on each new level or page. The final level (8) is very hard! So you'd better wanna upgrade your stats before reaching that level. Stats clear every new level, so make sure to use them after each level! A plasm is a gun.

Other-------------------------------------------------------
By: Danidre14
Website: danidre14.wix.com/danidre14
Other: Made for Ludum Dare 30 Jam, in 48 hours!

Update#1----------------------------------------------------
1.Medals now work
2.The game is much harder, as levels progress.

Update#2----------------------------------------------------
1.Bigger screen
2.Hold to crouch instead of toggle. (Because of glitches)

Update#3----------------------------------------------------
1.New fonts
2.Better backgrounds screen
3.Brown worlds, since you are on a brownish eye!
4.Added a new score board, since the game is harder!

Update#4----------------------------------------------------
1.Fixed a glitch with luck, maxing it out only allowed potions, not any more!
2.Fixed a medal, now when you bet out the game, you "actually" beat it out, and get the medal

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#422Humor(Jam)2.33
#563Audio(Jam)2.39
#697Mood(Jam)2.11
#713Fun(Jam)2.25
#732Theme(Jam)1.91
#748Graphics(Jam)2.04
#762Innovation(Jam)1.77
#776Overall(Jam)2.13

Comments

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Nice one! Your best LD entry. A couple of bugs, but not too bad. (Full coil stops shooting, and you can't crouch). Good work!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

We watched your stream on twitch! Good job :)

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33am

Hey! Thanks @Rocketship for being there! Although there was only up to 3 viewers at once. :3

@Boodog Yeah, this is the first time I actually got to complete a Ludum Dare game! And I've fixed those bugs a long time now! :3

Tritax says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

Fun little game. I feel like the hitbox of the runner is a bit too wide. there were a few times where I was clearly ahead of an eyeball, but it counted as a hit. :\

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03am

@Tritax Ok, sorry, about that! Will work on it tomorrow!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43am

I like the general "side-scrolling Space Harrier" idea, but the pace doesn't quite match - it just doesn't feel like there's enough to shoot at, and my bullets travel so slowly that I'm not sure I could hit much of anything if there was.

Also, Comic Sans doesn't seem like a proper fit for the game's whole "fighting aliens" theme. Maybe you should find a nice sci-fi font to use instead.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21pm

@Ryusui When you beat a level, and you upgrade coil, and shoot, those two things carry up your shooting speed, and if you ever reach level 8, you should have maxed out everything to get a chance at winning! Can you recommend any fonts I should use? Or if not I'll just try one for myself, thanks for the vote though! :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Hi there. Like the look and feel of your game. Amazing amount of extra features like badges and skill increases between levels. Good job!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:27pm

@mrexcessive Hi there too! I'm glad you do! I spent most of the time on these aspects as well! But no matter how many game fixes I fix, each other person still find something different wrong to comment on, on the newgrounds page!

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:45am

the main character was pretty creepier than the eyes, but other than that it was pretty sweet. once i got the shooting upgrades i was godlike!!!
i wish the gravity was a little stronger tho

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

@Simplexcity

Hey! Thank you for rating my entry! I always wished the gravity was stronger, but because of the planet, not even the anti-gravity we add when we upgrade jump would help us much! :( Blame the planet! XD

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Nice work!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Fun game. I like the music. Getting shot with boogers is funny.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Oh the misery, the pain!! Really enjoyed the funny audio. Challenging and fun! Nice entry!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Hey man! This game has a really sweet beat, but we all know that music isn't the only element that makes a game. This is a solid entry though, the idea could be fleshed out and the art could use more polish, but at the end of the day it is still a decent game.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Stress of music! But the enemies are very funny!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

Thank you all guys for rating my entries, and I'll be sure to rate those of you who I haven't already! :D

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:42am

Too easy... I think eyes should go much faster over the time. Can just hold down the button for continuous shooting. Art and sounds need a lot of love.

Budaniel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:43am

Crouch and shoot, that's my key to victory. The voice over at the end was funny.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

@Rage Paint Well at level 8 the eyes come much faster, if you made it that far though! O.o

@Budaniel Great idea! Now I'd be able to "beat" it out now!

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:10am

crouch + shoot = win!

waynaul says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:14am

Great use of parallax scrolling in the backgrounds. The pacing is a bit slow, but well done all around.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:52pm

@TedBrown Yeah a previous user told me about that solution, although I still did not win the game in the end.

@waynaul Thanks! The pacing speeds up after each level, so I won't know if you made it that far!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:20pm

It is okay... It is nice to be able to upgrade your char after each wave, but the difficulty curve must be adjusted, as the first waves are too easy.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:46am

They stat easy, but on level 8 it's too hard to beat it, for some though.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:34pm

For some reasons the controls didn't work for me (I tried shooting, WSADing, making sure the game has focus...), so I cannot really play your game. Leaving without score. >.<

Sunflower says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:52am

Uh, alright, the controls finally responded in the Newgrounds version (weird, because these two should be the same...), but I wasn't particularly impressed with that, anyway. First of all, there were these annoying eyes that land on ground, making them immune to shooting; I could stand that, but with way too wide character's hitbox they're pretty much impossible to avoid when in large groups. Also, the sounds are definitely too loud and annoying compared to the music. >.<
Well, at least it has upgrades and achievements, I guess? ^^"

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]