Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Coplanarity

by awsumpwner27 - Jam Entry

Ah, my first LD. Made alone in 72-ish hours.

Use the arrow keys to move.
Z button to move to a different plane when near a special travelling point.
X button to pick up travelling point.
R to reset level.

Unfortunately incomplete. There's only three accessible levels, and only two can be completed. It is only my first LD.
EDIT: Disregard above paragraph, level three is now playable! The game wasn't loading the file properly, and with a few tweaks to both the code and the file, it now loads as intended. Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#157Theme(Jam)3.64
#379Innovation(Jam)3.04
#441Graphics(Jam)3.24
#520Humor(Jam)2.06
#560Fun(Jam)2.72
#587Overall(Jam)2.92
#651Mood(Jam)2.46
#664Audio(Jam)1.31

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:38am

Liked the graphics, the little animations on the main character were great (fall damage at three tile heights though, that is harsh). The main mechanic is also very innovative, being able to pickup a special teleportation node can be expanded into a lot of puzzle I would think. Anyway, great job, especially for your first one!

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:38am

This is a pretty good start. I thought the ability to move the travel point was an interesting mechanic, although it's too bad you weren't able to flesh it out. One bug I noticed was that you could get the travel point stuck in the wall. Also, I really enjoyed that super-detailed end game screen in the folder :P

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40am

I didn't really get why the player got stunned after falling too far, but regardless, this was a very good start to a game. The movement was smooth and graphics were nice. Just need a couple more levels and maybe some sound. Nice job!

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40am

Really neat concept! Love the idea and deliberate thought required to progress. Simple and clean. I did however get stuck a few times with no way of progressing.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42am

Nice little submission.
I had to restart a couple of times due to me managing to break the second level by moving the travelling point and then falling off without it. Sigh, nice entry though and welcome to LD :D

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21am

Liked the idea of moving the traveling point. Congrats on your first LD game.

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:22am

The level graphics look really cool except for the parts that you can't distinguish between background and not-background. The fact that it opens a console in the background is... weird.

The "fell really far" animation was pretty neat.

Seems like it could have been pretty cool if you had more time. :<

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24am

It's a nice start. You got the game playable and got the functions running well. If it wasn't pointed out already, the level designs needs to be carefully made so the teleporters or you won't get stuck in the blocks. Just a word of advice. :)

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53am

Not much content.. And at one point I got to a new screen and there was nowhere to go, and I didn't get to bring my portal with me. Maybe that's the end?

I think it's a good start though. The platformer controls are quite solid, and the animations are nice.

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07am

Lovely colour scheme, very soft. Interesting mechanic where the player gets stunned from falling, although makes the game a bit slow. Loved your core feature with the teleporting. Clever/tricky puzzles can be made with this. Has potential!

awsumpwner27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11am

Taking into account the comment on the console in the background, I dug a bit, and with the help of a friend, tacospice, I figured out how to remove it.

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28am

Liked the idea, being able to move the portals around was an interesting twist.

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Nice use of the theme in gamePlay and great graphics :) Just slap on some music and sounds and you can release it to the masses :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I can definitely see this for various puzzle mechanics. Cool game.

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:06am

It is a good start. Basic mechanic works well with platforming and the visuals look nice. Some sound would've been nice :) But for a first LD very well done.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:09am

Wow, what a lovely concept! Puzzle platformers are tricky... it's so hard to make enough levels during the competition. The animation for the stick figure is fantastic, but the foreground and background don't stand out enough from each other (e.g. the tiles you can walk through vs the tiles you can stand on).

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:57am

Cool entry! I found some trouble when figuring out where to go (particularly in the last level where you must run backwards) but it's a great start. The art and mood were very cool, only wished there had been music to finish off the mood.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06am

Lovely style, and I like your interpretation of the theme. Good work!

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:59am

Pretty good. I agree that three tile fall damage is a little bit frustrating.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01am

A quick, sweet game! I, too, liked the ability to move the travel point, though I ended up feeling like the controls were a little bit confusing/stressful to use because of it. I'm not sure what you could have done differently, but there were some moments that were difficult to coordinate. Serviceable graphics and a nice use of the theme. The lack of audio didn't bother me much! Maybe you should grab a music friend for your NEXT jam, though ;] Thanks for the game!

chas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:10am

Movement feels good. Well done!

Jedi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:58am

Wow, I didn't realize this was your first LD, awsumpwner27. Good job!
I felt like the levels should have relied more on puzzling and less on platforming to better reflect its strong and weak suits, but I know how it goes during the jam!

The little falling animation was cute but it kicked in at too low of heights, I thought. The graphics were good, but, as has been mentioned, needed to distinguish between foreground and background better. Not only should the coloring have been more differentiated, but the blocks in the background could have been made smaller.

Shame there's no audio.

It's short but I had fun completing it.

Overall, an enjoyable game with an innovative mechanic!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:16am

That's a really good idea of moving portals around there. Like playing portal without a portal gun.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:15am

I liked the mechanic, and what levels there were were designed pretty well around it. Sometimes I did get confused as to where the exit to each level was; it would help if you had a more recognizable graphic for level exits.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

Interesting concept, I'd like to see this expanded upon. This is pretty good and level-headed for your first Jam, congrats on that. Many people end up taking up a task that's too large or small. That being said, I believe that the rules for the Jam state that you can use online resources, so next time you should try adding sound/music, I feel it would help the game immensely.

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

Really cool mechanic with the portal!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:19am

Nice concept and use of the theme!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Nice color palette. Also i liked animation and fact of falling %) Wanted more levels to play. Not obvious exit from level and some wall/floor edges.

voxel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:30am

I really like the tiles and the palette in this, very short though :(

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:59am

The jumping felt a little off at times, but other than that the controls were good. Interesting concept, but the game feels incomplete. It was also a little bit confusing as to what the goal was at times. I didn't realize it was the floor that mattered more than the direction of travel. Seems like a good start to something, but it just doesn't have enough content.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:17am

What's there is quite good. The concept seems pretty fun, especially being able to pick up the warp points. Good job!

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I really liked the portal mechanic and the art style. I was kinda disappointed when it ended after only 1 really good level but what I played was fun and I would like to see more.

ratking says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Nice idea, but feels to incomplete. Expand it!

HayManMarc says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

I liked the look of this game, but playing it was difficult. After I got a few screens in, I wasn't able to pick up the travelling points anymore.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:18pm

That was short but was very fun and the concept is awesome! Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]