Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Farm Invaders

by ndebruyn - Jam Entry

Farm Invaders is a first person shooter style game where you are the owner of a farm. Suddenly portals from other worlds opens up on your farm and you need too shoot those aliens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#380Graphics(Jam)3.39
#386Humor(Jam)2.42
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#530Fun(Jam)2.79
#543Overall(Jam)2.97
#544Theme(Jam)2.76
#607Mood(Jam)2.64
#730Innovation(Jam)2.06

Comments

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50am

First person shooter with nice graphics. I lacked any challange as it look like those aliens can't kill me or anything. The music is good for the mood thought.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03am

I loved the graphics, but next time please add some muzzle effect :P First I tried to shoot the aliens by HOLDING the mouse button. I also missed the sounds. But the graphics is really cute. ^^

ndebruyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43am

Thanks, I wish I had more time.
I actually did this game in less than 8 hours.
There so much more I wanted to do.

Follett says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57am

Very impressive for 8 hours. I feel like alot could have been done to make some of models and textures blend a little better. Maybe some fog and a better skybox.

ndebruyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:37am

I agree with you totally.
I do not even use a sky box, but If I had it would look awesome.
Thanks for the feedback.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04am

Very nice game, I had a blast playing it. May be too easy, but it is OK - not every game should be hard ;) Interesting theme implementation.

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:54am

Morgan likes this game. jMonkey rules!

slumber says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:04am

I like the art and the graphic. Cant say I had a lot of fun shooting the slow moving aliens.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:34am

Sounds are really nice. But just one thing: why the hell did you bind the shooting to mouseUp and not mouseDown ? After decades of shooter, mouseDown is just intuitive, and makes for a more reactive game.

ndebruyn says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:25am

I am sorry, will keep that in mind.
That was actually not the intention.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:25am

Good job! I had fun playing it, the graphics were cute and sound effects were cool. Sometimes, the controls felt jerky though. 16 kills!

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Love the graphics!

kidando says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:14am

You graphics are really really spectacular. Congrats on finishing your game

Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:19am

needs some more work, there doesn't seem to be a way for me to die... :/
Also, some of the polygons from that gun are inside-out, did you download that model from somewhere and not flip the polygons?

Patacorow says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Impressive graphics for 72 hours!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Solid entry

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]