Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Universe Connector

by SK16 Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about connecting all the planets and taking over the universe!


----------IMPORTANT----------
Of some reason the sound (music) won't work on the web version. So if you are playing the web version on GameJolt, I have added the soundtrack so you can listen to it anyway (scroll down a bit) or: You could just download the damn game!


----------About----------
So... In the beginning I had a very different idea, but because of time, you know, I had to cut a lot... About 3 hours before deadline I found out I couldn't make it in time, and changed everything, to make at least something done :P

Hope you'll like it!


----------Tools used----------
Engine: Game Maker: Studio
Graphics: Photoshop
Music: Fruity Loops (FL Studio)


----------Something----------
And also, I like comments, so please leave one and let me know what you liked/disliked, or tell me on twitter :D
- and I might check out your game too, and give you feedback ;)

AND ALSO ASLO: I would be really glad if you would read my post-mortem :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/02/universe-connector/

Twitter.com/SixtenKastalje
YouTube.com/AwesomeSixten
SixtenKastalje.tumblr.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#522Audio2.76
#568Theme3.24
#887Graphics2.57
#890Overall2.86
#929Mood2.53
#1043Innovation2.40
#1057Fun2.38
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

I loved the music loop! My game crashed with a fatal error when I got a spaceship to Naboo though.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:44pm

OMG another good idle game! Give me backy my time! :D

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Same here http://puu.sh/b7du9/883815f958.jpg

SK16Games says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Thanks for the comments! :D Bug has been fixed!

Aske says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Remember to post the source :) but great game!

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:27am

Cool little game! It gets pretty hard if you decide to build multiple spaceships at one time :D

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:41am

Nice little game, and the music rocks.

Only complaint is that you are waiting more than playing ;/

SK16Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:51am

@CeriseGhost thanks, and yea building more at once makes the controls more fucked up haha ;D @RadioLemon Thanks a lot! :D I know that you are waiting too much :P My original idea was that you could upgrade stuff on each planet etc. but (of course) didn't make it in time

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:17am

Nice little game. Suffers the classic problem of resource-over-time games that without some balancing factor, it's just a matter of time rather than strategy. To play, I just upgraded resources until the cost was greater than that of a spaceship. Alternatively, I could have made a cup of tea. Nice audio, but the loop was a little too short.

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

Seems like a good start to a strategy game.

slumber says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:28am

So i started playing. I wanted to see the game to the end but i got bored of waiting for the money so i walked away and left it open for 5 mins. Then i got bored of upgrading earth so with out the ship i started exploring to find other plants but then i got lost in the purple universe.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:43pm

At first I was really excited, but I was a little bit sad when I realised there wasn't as much exploration as I expected.
This could potentially be the next cookie clicker though if your work on it a bit more. :D
Keep up the good work, and well done. :)

SK16Games says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Thanks again people :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:34am

Not much here, but what is here is polished. Looks like you could have used a little more time.

Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Simple but well done. I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KSNN8ZCA9kQ

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 17, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Aww - feel like you got cheated on the final score: especially "graphics": they were awesome!

SK16Games says ...
Sep 17, 2014 @ 10:12pm

@mrspeaker Thanks a lot!! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]