Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Match And Shoot

by skymarionsky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Match Puzzle (like a Diamond Dash) + Shooting Game Combined!!
Please leave a message and I'll check your game too, Thanks.

made with Unity 4.6 Beta because I wanted to try out the uGUI.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Fun3.54
#379Overall3.38
#414Innovation3.35
#578Theme3.23
#685Mood2.84
#950Graphics2.46
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Strange combinaison with two different games. It seems to me too hard, but it's a good experience. Thank you for sharing ++

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

Interesting concept! I ran into a situation where I could not match any more to gain new bullets, which was a bummer, but I assume this is a major edge case. I had fun!

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

Very cool concept, the game is difficult but I had fun managing my attention between the two areas.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27am

can you make a linux build, please?

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34am

Cool combination! It gets hard fast in my opinion.

skymarionsky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08am

@r0x0r I added linux build but I haven't tested.

matthewj234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26am

Was an interesting idea, but I found I ran out of time to match if I wanted to shoot and survive

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59am

Would have loved it better to see the cannon rotate based on mouse movement, not mouse click. Also, HANDS, EYES, work as a team DAMN IT!

Ben Lehman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24am

I liked this a lot! I enjoyed it and I think with a bit more work it could be a really fun game. Here's a few thoughts:

* I sometimes got "combos" but it wasn't clear what they did for me.
* It would be neat if the attackers came at different rates -- in waves and lulls, basically -- which would give a natural cycle for reloading. Maybe this would make it too easy, though?
* I want to get more bullets for collecting large numbers of circles.
* As it is, the circles game is just "spot it," there's no real puzzle element. This is fine, but if you want it to have puzzle-ishness you should do that.
* The theme is a bit disjointed, but that's actually fine.
* The graphics are simple, but I like them anyway.

Might be better played with a touchscreen? Or maybe with two mice, one for shooting one for loading. Anyway, it's a fun game and there's a lot of cool places you could take it.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24am

Very interesting idea! Everything happens so fast.
(Linux build works ;})

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

Ran out of matches at 530 points... Was going well until then...

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Two of my favorite game types! The game would be more fair if the bullets in the shoot portion acted more like they do in Missile Command. Fun game though!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Tricky and fiendishly hard! I love a good challenge. Hehe, I need a faster mouse though (bad workman blaming his tools!). ;-D Well done!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Really tricky to stay alive but could see this working on a touch screen as some kind of frantic puzzler.

Good job!

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Great little game, with some balancing and play testing you might be onto a classic!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Nice mix of two genres, I would like to see a more polished version with improvements like Ben Lehman says ...
360pt !

ponywolf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I could see this being an awesome two player game where players share a tablet... One does the three match and the other shoots the ships... As it stands it's a good idea and awesome entry.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Nice concept, really fun ! But after some time it became too easy for me.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Two thumbs up! The game was very challenging and addicting. I feel like this could be an iphone or android game. What made it hardcore was trying to manage two things at one time. Great entry! :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice entry, simple mecanics but well designed. NIce art. I ree with ben lehman for a few improvements.

Slowian says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Good idea for the game. I've managed to get 1450 score before I ran out of matches and bullets.
I have a suggestion, that when there are no more matches, the bottom would be generated anew. It would increase the play time, and the game would more depend on skill and not on luck.

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:59pm

This brought me back to my days of playing 'Snood' in the computer lab many years ago when I was still in school. Awesome work. it was a lot of fun and there's definitely potential there for the mobile market. Increasing the speed of the incoming objects as your score increases would add some challenge, but overall very well-rounded for an LD entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]