Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Day Dream

by Takashy87 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Had to drop half or more of the game as I wouldn't have finished it in time just to get something "playable" which means that the stuff that is there doesn't really match the theme at all (was supposed to be story based)

Expect plenty of bugs and a short game if you're lucky enough to finish it w/o facing any of the show stoppers.

- Getting stuck seems like a perfect theme for this

- Games source code (and basically everything else) is awful.. so don't use it as a good example on how to get things done. Don't even bother checking it unless you're super curious about how something 'works' (>_<);

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#257Humor2.86
#676Graphics2.92
#786Audio2.23
#969Mood2.45
#1047Fun2.40
#1125Innovation2.17
#1149Overall2.39
#1175Theme1.73

Comments

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48am

Got stuck at the top of snake boss, considering it was your first LD, good job.

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

Thanks, too bad that I ended up rushing it like this.. :(

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I like the scale of the giant monsters. Nice!

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

This game is big, it takes forever to load. Short but sweet, I like those floppy textures.

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very nice especially for a first timer - an unexpectedly creepy and atmospheric journey. The ambient sound is great and I didn't encounter any bugs. The controls during the snake boss are a bit of a challenge but apparently I'm awesome :)

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Managed to die within attacking distance of the snake so I could spam him with damage whilst dead!

Would be nice to have more control in the scrolling section, perhaps require the player to jump to avoid some obstacles?

The first dare is always the hardest! You made the right decision to drop content in favour of completing the game loop. It's better to have a short game than an incomplete one.

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

ah right, I forgot to put up a game over screen (>_<)

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I like how it switches mode at the snake boss. Interesting concept. I would like to see it more developed.

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Got stuck twice - in snake fight and in gray void ^^. Also, what is the point of using spacebar attack earlier if nothing happens either way? :D. Anyway, cool mood :)

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Anyway, good job.

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

The snake was vanquished!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Loved the creepy ambiance and the hand drawn aesthetic. awesome job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Cool game. Felt pretty weird after playing it for a bit. That's good, right? :D

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Awesome man! Really like the graphics and atmosphere! Great!

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00pm

i like these handdrawn game elements a lot..cute game

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Cool game, but at level with snake boss i've got completely lost!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Congratulation for your first LD, this game is more awesome than it seems I really liked it. Keep doing good job and don't listen to naysayers

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Haha I love the graphics, really got a unique feel to them :)
You should make it longer, I'd love to play a finished version of this! :)

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I got stuck at the snake, then I'm awesome? well, i WAS riding a rainbow spewing flying unicorn.......
dafuq did i just play?

Simon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:08am

Some of your assets are absolutely gorgeous, particularly the avatar. And I did finish the game :) Good job.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Got stuck in space... can't move. I didn't really get the concept of the game, though +1 for rainbows! ;)

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Crazy game %)
I lost control in space.

kyru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

The look of this is neat.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Nice graphics and audio. The game stopped responding to the wasd keys after that I got to the space snake.
Thanks for the Linux build.

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:06pm

I got stuck as i puked rainbows on the snake boss. The rock golem guys seemed to turn invisible, but I managed to shoot them or maybe they dissapeared. Good for a first try, on my first try, we lost all the files and didn't finish :o :P

hungyg says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Great job! Love the unuique graphics style

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:29am

This was fun. Loved the scale of the monsters. Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]