Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected

by vogon101 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are trapped in a world with crap art, you must escape! Make it to the portal at the end of each world to win!

WSAD to move, click to shoot, bullets are invisible!

The game is winnable but if you want to skip a level the gameover screen has a level select!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1018Graphics2.32
#1038Mood2.26
#1119Innovation2.18
#1131Theme2.09
#1139Fun2.09
#1153Overall2.38
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

It's a nice idea, visible bullets (or an effect when you shoot or something is hit) would have made a huge difference.

vogon101 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Thanks for the advice, I need to research that!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:50am

The concept is good, but lacks many things, bullets, sounds, good luck with the game

Tosic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I am a Unity begginer (with some experience) myself (aged 11) and it is nice to know I am not the only one! :D
I got few advices from experienced people:
- There is a smooth mouse look script (default one is terrible): http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/a-free-simple-smooth-mouselook.73117/ (allowed in the compo)
- You could make the sky other colour (just click the camera and there should be "background" so you change the colour!)
- Maybe a health bar (just the number above you)
- Dont know how to play a sound, I didnt know as well, it is in here: http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/12546/playing-audio-clip.html (again, allowed in the compo!)

If you want to play my game and see the features from above in a game, feel free to do so!!!
I wish you all the good luck!!! :D

- Tosic

Tosic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:27pm

P.S. The game is really fun and art is not crappy at all (don't think I do not like you game, I do. A lot.)!

vogon101 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Thanks, I really appreciate the support

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

This game is surely pointing an evidence.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I probably wouldn't have done better for a first Unity entry.
But the game is still a bit hard and not very fun.
And I can't see the relation with the theme.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Controls were rather slidey and difficult. I didnt know for the longest time that I was firing my gun or that I was being fired at. I'm sure it has potential!

kristof says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Sadly the game feels a bit unfinished. Some feedback when you get hit or hit something would make the game much more enjoyable. But its a nice start!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:37am

The simple grafics make the enemies look like.. Evil flying chess pieces, which adds to the mood of the game. The levels are quite enjoyable, but a bit too short.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]