Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Anti Matter

by Chris Maire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ludum dare entry. It's a deep space tower-defense tug-of-war.

Edit: There is a bug that causes you to not be able to build on planets for a little while, in my experience it was around ~15 seconds or so. It only occurred fairly late game for me, but aside from that, I don't have firm steps to reproduce the issue, so if you experience it please leave a bug report and let me know if you have any idea what the cause might be.

Controls:

W A S D CTRL SPACE FWD LEFT BACK RIGHT DOWN UP

LEFT MOUSE BUILD

MOUSE WHEEL / + / - SELECT TOWER

TAB SHOW INFO

ENTER SHOW CONTROLS

SHIFT + 4 / $ CHEAT

Tools Used:

Unity3d
Paint.NET
Maya 2015
Bosca Ceoil

Feedback?

@dinosaursssssss

dinosaursssssss at gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#620Innovation3.08
#630Mood2.89
#647Audio2.55
#704Graphics2.88
#805Fun2.76
#864Theme2.75
#880Overall2.88
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17am

I like the game idea, but I feel like I don't have enough control or that it is too slow to accomplish anything. I got lucky once and a mortar killed enough to take over another planet and I won. The rest of the times, I've lost miserably watching my towers knock out one enemy every 15 seconds.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18am

Really fun to play and defend, but a bit too difficult.

Chris Maire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24am

I found a fairly large bug in the submitted version that was making it impossible to build. I believe it's fixed in this version: http://maximum-extreme.com/antimatter/

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27am

Some neat ideas, liked the scaling trick to show distance but kept getting my butt kicked.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41am

I'm a bit confused since I only seem to be able to build 2 turrets with the starting money, and since I never get any more money before the enormous waves of enemies arrive, I can only kill a few enemies before losing.

Mezzenstein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:01am

Yeah, isn't possible without the cheats. It's a cool kind of tower defense. I liked the music also!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

nice difficulty on this one. Would like to be able to build more different things to take out the enemies though

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Love the idea of 3D, space tower defense, but as other have said, it doesn't look like there is a way to win unless you cheat. You earn money too slowly compared to the onslaught on UFOs.

sprawl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

The game is very interesting but needs some balancing. Otherwise its a very high quality jam game. The graphics are really nice, especially the explosions. It makes the game very satisfying to watch.

The only way to win for me was to build everything one 1 planet. When it got captured, it kept shooting and eventually saving itself. Eventually I had a large enough force on the planet to destroy any incoming UFOs.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Super fun, but the game ramps up in difficulty almost instantly. I wasnt sure how to build any more than two rockets then suddenly a fleet of enemies is heading my way. Was there no way to see what rocket I was building or did I miss that?

SelfishGenome says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Controls were a bit confusing, had no idea which tower I had currently selected to build. Also the size of the web player was too big for my screen so i may have missed a few things.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:19am

Impressive results for a first timer! I must say that it is rather difficult and the controls could improve, but it was fun to play and see how the aliens invaded all my planets :( great job!

Warboys says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:51am

Found it extremely hard, a bit stingy with the money :P

The idea is very interesting, it would be cool to see it developed further

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]