Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Processed Goods

by Ervin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Process goods - processing levels connected into a chain of workers. Replace human workers with robots - no matter where you work, what you work on, robots will do it more efficiently.

Arrow key or wasd to move around, '1' to upgrade human worker to a robot for a cost of $100. Initially, you should just try to get some goods to the end to be able to afford some robots. Nothing is perfect though, when goods are dropped to ground, you'll pay for it.

I used Unity3d as game engine, Gimp for the few sprites, Reason+Renoise for sounds. Unfortunately no music. And the game could use a few tuning passes :).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Innovation4.30
#37Fun3.93
#45Overall3.93
#100Humor3.35
#141Mood3.56
#170Audio3.42
#615Graphics3.00
#1040Theme2.38
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

Can you make a linux build, please?

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

Really cool Game. But i didnt get why i got game over?

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41am

WOW. Momy, i'm woking at factory! :)
Really funny game.

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41am

Hard to win. But great concept and gameplay.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42am

I loved the gameplay. Nice.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

Surprisingly interesting gameplay, it kept me hooked for a few minutes. I wish the boxes weren't so physics based though, it makes the gameplay kinda frustrating.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47am

Like the sounds and the idea of a kind of time management thing you have goin on. Pretty hard though. Any tips? I couldn't get far enough in to see the theme.

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48am

You get game over when you run out of money - every action costs money, eventually you run out. Could be make a lot clearer though, some visual indications. And it's not really tuned right, maybe too difficult. Physics->Frustration is supposed to be the random element there, but some of the "machines" are getting stuck a bit too much :).

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48am

OMG This game is amazing. I love how you the music is worked into the gameplay. Very clever. Very well done.

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49am

I love the way the sound you make when you move almost makes a beat. Very difficult game, but a cool idea.

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49am

Tips - get just 3 boxes to the end before putting more through, then you'll have enough money to upgrade a bot or two. But it's pretty hard :/.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58am

I've tried this a bunch of times and never made it past 1 robot. I don't even feel as if I'm improving. I think either I'm missing something, I'm not good enough at time management, or this game is just too hard.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01am

Oh my this is so much fun! Totally bookmarked it haha was having a blast while playing!!

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05am

Cool concept and it took a long time for me to figure out how the game worked. Good job!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07am

Excellent sound design! It was almost like a rhythm game when things got going.

Boxes sometimes seem to glitch out or be missed by robots even when you replace all the factory workers, however.

Overall very clever idea.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35am

Excellent sound design! It was almost like a rhythm game when things got going.

Boxes sometimes seem to glitch out or be missed by robots even when you replace all the factory workers, however.

Overall very clever idea.

(commenting again in case this replaces the earlier comment): I managed to beat it once, but trying to beat it again, glitches make it very frustrating. Otherwise it would be awesome! In particular, the vertical green lines are the worst offenders. Sometimes you can be standing at them, not even a robot, and yet the boxes will spin and hit the ground.

Another big issue is that sometimes the SAME box seems like it can repeatly trigger the floor hit, ending the game very quickly.

If the robots were good at carrying boxes and the boxes did not randomly drop out of the machines, it would be super satisfying, kind of like a playable blue-ball machine.

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Nice game! I thought a classical mini game first. Actually, it uses physics engine! I was surprised.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

One more comment, I thought you might be amused by this, developer: http://abload.de/img/boxeskkkqa.png

Having probably lost a few times because of glitches before, it's only fair that I won because of a glitch that stopped boxes from hitting the ground. :D

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37am

it's awesome!

Ervin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15am

@GAFBlizzard, heh yep it does glitch quite a bit. I was kinda thinking that it's "machines are not perfect" type of system, but perhaps it's just more frustrating than fun. Still, can result in some funny scenarios.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:50am

Difficult game. Very difficult, but I liked the idea :)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:55am

Really interesting concept, maybe a bit too difficult.

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:04pm

This entry was really fun to play! I took me some time to figure out a good strategy, but I managed to beat it once.

Pent says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

This was really fun and once I got the hang of it I beat it! Short game but good concept

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]