Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into the Deep

by RandomM00 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

* BUGFIX 2013/8/28 - Fixed Linux missing background *
* BUGFIX 2013/8/27 - Fixed Windows 7/8 missing background *

About
=====

This is a simple game inspired by the cave flying game Spout.
It was written in a bit of a rush after I botched the first day of the competition. In the end I wrote this in well under a day, and was reasonably pleased with it.
I may have made it rather difficult by accident!

Installing
==========

The game requires SDL2. I've tested it briefly on Arch Linux and Windows XP.

Run build-release.sh to build an executable on Linux.
If you're brave you might try build-win32-release.sh to cross compile a Windows executable (requires SDL2.dll at runtime, see the SDL website).

Running
=======

There are no data files, but the Windows executable requires SDL2.dll in the same directory.

Controls:
- left/right/up accelerate

Avoid colliding with anything, press up to restart when you do!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Mood3.69
#350Graphics3.44
#699Fun2.88
#709Overall3.06
#920Innovation2.65
#1133Theme2.07
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Can't vote fairly as I can only see bright and dark background, ship and light circle, but no collidable background. Played on Windows 7

Matyze says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03am

Same goes for me

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Thanks for the bug report, it should be fixed now!

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:25am

I also don't see any background on Arch Linux.
Tried the Linux build and building from source, same result.

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Thank you, fixed. Looks like I misunderstood SDL_assert. I'll look into that.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Can't download windows version, 404.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Ok, I built it from sources. You should remove the code that writes debug data to the console before publishing the game. Also, on windows you can add -mwindows flag if you don't want to open console window at all. And another thing: instead of asking users to download SDL, you can put SDL2.dll file in the `bin` folder of your executable.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Oops! 404. Be sure to let us all know when you get it up and running :)

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Should be working again, I think Bitbucket went for a bit of a derp. Or maybe I did, not sure...
Building with build-release.sh passes -DNDEBUG which should disable most output. I'm not seeing a console appear on Windows 7.

TBSHRichard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Gameplay:

(Positive) + Mechanics of the game aren't difficult to pick up, making it easy to learn the game.
(Negative) - Very similar to Lunar Lander as far as controls and the idea of not crashing into the walls. Using ideas from other games is unavoidable, but there should be some effort in adding or destorting the existing mechanics into something that feels different. A simple example of something different could be having a puzzle aspect such as using the thruster to burn a piece of wood that is blocking the path.
(Negative) - Horizontal collision detection is far too unforgiving. It doesn't matter what speed the player is going at; if you collide with a wall to the left or the right then you have to start over. This was very frustrating in a game where the whole idea was to navigate your way through tight spaces.

Story:

(Positive) + The story itself is fairly interesting. The idea of an explorer going to new lands where he doesn't know the consequences is pertinent to real life, not knowing what exists in where we've not explored. You've left it rather open to interpretation, but this is how I viewed the story.
(Negative) - I feel that having the story drive the theme doesn't really make it based on the theme of Connected Worlds. I'm not saying that you did this, but it is completely possible to have a full game idea before the compo and then just adapt the story to the them without much effort. I prefer to think of having the theme drive the creation of the gameplay, but perhaps that is just me.

Graphics:

(Positive) + The graphics, while simple and primitive, were all consistent throughout the game and nothing felt out of place. Nicely done!

Final thoughts:

Overall there are definitely some improvements that can be done. Take a look at all the mistakes, and analyze what is actually a mistake and what is not so that you may not make them again. Congratulations on finishing, and good luck to all you game development endeavors in the future!

Knowledge says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

OK game, but doesn't fit the theme.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:52pm

I didn't find it intuitive that I was supposed to go down, and I found the difficulty curve way too steep. Admittedly, using your thruster for light is a very cool idea.

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Thanks for the feedback, glad it's working!
I had real trouble coming up with something that would fit the theme, I was getting a bit desperate because I only had twelve hours or so left after messing up.

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I liked this, but it starts off really hard so I couldn't get very far at all. I like the progression of story, and I like the mood.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Tough game. I liked the concept of needing to move upwards to increase the lighting, great idea there.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

It was a fun game, but when I got to the bottom nothing happened... I just died

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:07am

Works good with the updated version.
I like the gameplay concept, but I found it a bit too hard, it just required a bit too pixel perfect positioning for me to handle with my keyboard.
Maybe making it a bit easier overall still with hard sections and with some kind of checkpoints.
I like the simple graphics and the mood, it feels well made.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:15pm

That was hard! xD excellent work :D the mysterious gameplay is awesome :D

someone says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Good start of a game. I like the light effect.
Horizontal collision is a bit unforgiving.
It seems to just stop at the bottom.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]