Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Arena

by romandtom - Jam Entry

Hello LD fellows,
Today in our Ludum Dare journey, we'll take you
through the galactic.

You'll meet some of the most dangerous creatures
that are known, and some which are not so known yet.
You'll find their secrets, fight with them, against them and conquer their stars.

As some of you know, but probably most earth people
who reads this post in LD wouldn't know.
A very important tournament will take place in the next few weeks, where there will be only one representative for each star.
Fortunately, there will be only one winner in this tournament,
or one winner who will get alive of this anyway.

Good Luck! Please don't let down
your very own star!

right now there is only 1 character available and the design is not complete of course.

==Controls==

::player 1::
right, left - run
up - jump
down (Hold) - guard and load mp
space - attack

::player 2::
D, A - run
W - jump
S (Hold) - guard and load mp
Left CTRL - attack

:::Attacks:::

regular attacks:

-attack button (spam for comboes)
-jump+attack

special attacks:

-run+attack
-run+jump+attack
-hold down+arrow

Trust you,
RomAndTom.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#162Fun(Jam)3.44
#228Graphics(Jam)3.76
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#349Humor(Jam)2.49
#416Mood(Jam)3.03
#634Audio(Jam)1.78
#665Innovation(Jam)2.39
#684Theme(Jam)2.20

Comments

mons657 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Um... How do you play?

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Chrome blocks it saying it's malicious. You might want to fix that.

romandtom says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:51am

@mons657 Controls information is now available.

@IamAcoconut Thanks for letting us know, the link will now download a zip file. hope it'll help.

DarkCart says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Not sure how this relates to the theme, but it looks interesting.

creative630 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:33pm

That AI was brutal... Well executed game! Sound next time ;)

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:01pm

So I played your game, and I really liked that you could play against another human, that was really fun! You should make the player and enemy different colours, so you can tell the difference. I really liked your animations, and the graphics in the fight scene were pretty cool! Nice game! :)

TheGreenTie says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:53pm

God, finish this.

TheGreenTie says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:53pm

.....in a sense that this is reeeaaaally good.

Yword says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Cool, and the character animation is very good! Well done!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Very nice moves and animations. I agree with creative630 the AI was pretty brutal. Very nice work though!

Anti says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Pretty fun fighting game but controls are unclear!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I liked the characters animations. It is often difficult to say, where is my character, and where is the enemy

jcsirron says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:17am

This was a pretty fun beat-em up. I'd like to see the additional planets fighters if there's more time for adding them later.

Docjekyll says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Impressive animation work for the short period of time.

Patacorow says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Animations are absolutely amazing. The AI is a bit too tough and some sound would've helped. Overall a nice game!

gillenew says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:02am

wow very nice! reminded me of dragon ball :)

Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:19am

Pretty cool game, animations of fighting is smooth. I like the skill mechanics and how simple it is. Good job Loving the graphics however the hand doesn't seem to fit the style

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:55am

Good game but why at the end it says left/right player wins??? besides at the start of the game i didnt knew which character am I. anyway good entry

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:56pm

The animations are really well done!

Aifryz says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Solid gameplay. Nice graphics. Ridiculously hard AI. Sometimes I couldn't tell which character is played by me.

DesignerNap says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:10pm

"The winner is left player" I love that :D Excellent anims, rock hard AI, but I enjoyed running away and taking a kicking!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]