Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Work World

by bw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a little scrolling platform game. Sorry it's not longer. I ran out of time.

Tools used:
ImpactJS
Schism Tracker
Graphics Gale

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Humor3.46
#230Audio3.30
#317Graphics3.48
#372Mood3.21
#524Fun3.08
#654Overall3.11
#681Theme3.08
#867Innovation2.76
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I like the art here very much. Movement animation is very smooth. ** *** world (spoilers :D) made me laugh so hard.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31pm

LOL Your characters are cracking me up! I have no idea if I reached the end or just got lost and stuck, but explored as far as I did because it's all so funny. Took me some effort and random guessing to find out how to use the super jump effectively. It's just so extreme. Getting around, especially obstacles, seems awkwardly difficult at times.

Funny game! Hope I didn't miss anything. Sad I never managed to take down the system. Was curious what that might be like. (Please let me know if I missed a bunch of stuff because I would certainly keep playing!)

BTW, I like the sky visuals and the music is pretty nice!

bw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Thanks. I'm glad you liked it.

You didn't miss anything. The game just ends abruptly.

I guess that makes it more realistic? In real life you're also never going to be able to take down the system, but you just have to keep playing until the end, looking for some humor and fun at least.

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47am

Graphics look very nice and the music works out well. It is unusual having 2 different jumps as the main mechanic for the character, but you did a good enough job of designing your level around it. Sound effects would've been nice.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

Great pixel art and pase of the game. Like it.

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

Well that was hilarious. Nice animations and some interesting level design.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:36am

Loved the little sayings! I was reading them all so seriously until I hit the guy who was all "I have green hair" then i just realised it was going to get funnier! Great sub

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:09pm

nice game, very humorous

AdricZero says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Nice music

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:33am

Great art. Would like to see the rest!

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:46pm

A funny game, with good humour and smooth animation. The superjump mechanic is strange, but works better than one could fist think. Too bad there aren't a real ending.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]