Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

House of Demise (Horror/Puzzle)

by RawboSaurX - Jam Entry

Here's our contribution to Ludum Dare #30.


About:

Explore an abandoned mansion and reveal the terrifying secrets it holds.


Paranormal Exterminator's Need-to-Know:

1. Always bring a gun to a ghostfight. The gunpowder dissolves their temporary presence and gives
you a chance to relocate before they reappear.

2. Don't forget to use your trusty Ghosthunter Knife in those sticky close-up situations.

3. Sometimes a personal item can help you call out an entity. Look for anything that seems out of place.


Controls:

"A" and "D" = Left and Right
"W"/Space = Action Button
Shift = Aim
Shift + Space = shoot
"R" = Reload
"J" = Knife Attack
"E" = Spectre Radar
"I" = Pause
F12 = Insta quit
"S" = Crouch(buggy)


Worked our asses off to get this to work as properly as possible.
Fixed most of the bugs, but there's definitely still a few for you to enjoy ;)

Let us know if you liked our first finished project together, and if you come across any of the magical bugs and glitches.
Mmmm... Them bugs<3

- Robin & Peter

PS: Very sorry about not providing a WEB version. We don't currently have the means to do so. Hopefully we can get it to work later.
This means that if you want to try out the game, you need to download the 195mb zip file. Thanks for your awezum patience, Mr./Ms. Awzm, you!

Also, we were so tired we didn't even remember that we changed the name from the working title while we were zipping the file. Yup... House of Demise is definitely the correct title, though. Oh well.. Good night all.


EDIT: A polished version is planned in the near future, so if you're interested in longer/better version, keep an eye out on our facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/FatPixieStudios

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Mood(Jam)4.33
#25Graphics(Jam)4.50
#32Overall(Jam)4.02
#65Fun(Jam)3.71
#72Audio(Jam)3.82
#345Innovation(Jam)3.11
#369Humor(Jam)2.45
#558Theme(Jam)2.72

Comments

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56am

Uhm... Web version have same link like Windows :)

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06am

Downloaded, played and totally enjoyed! This is one of the best games here!

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Wow! This is really awesome! Love the pixel art and the "wolf3d" style avatar.

xoxopanda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Amazing atmosphere, this is probably my favorite entry. Stå på, gutta!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04pm

This is game is very good considering the fact it was made in 72 hours.

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

You guys did an amazing job in 72 hours. Great pixel art, great sound effects, and solid gameplay. Excellent work!

guimonpa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06pm

You forgot to put the web version up! Can't play since I'm on OS X, will do once you upload it.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38pm

First off, holy filesize batman, 200MB?! :P

Great mood, fantastic pixel art and interesting gameplay, solid entry :D

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

That is some top notch pixel art!

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Great pixel art! Very good job, a nice and polished experience overall.

Oh by the way I had to go to the task manager to exit it, nothing else worked!

Great job!

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Hmmmm...That's strange. F12 should instaquit the game completely. and pressing "esc" in the status screen("I") should ask if you want to exit to main menu where you can exit to desktop.

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Lol, pictures on the walls are awesome. It was just fun to consider them.
The atmosphere is just 10/10.

dook says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42pm

This game is super awesome, but it's too damn hard for me. I've died three times now without finishing a single of the ghosts. I'm too tired to start over right now, I'll give it another go later on for sure, though :)

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Really good visuals and audio, and gameplay was fun. Best part with this game was the mood, really creepy :)

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Sorry I can't seem to download it. At around 25% completion Chrome stops downloading and 7-zip says it can't open it as an archive.
I'll keep this page bookmarked and come back for it later though.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Damn, that sucks, seems to work fine in firefox. Come to think of it, I've heard several people having problems with Chrome downloads today. Hope you'll give it a shot later anyways ;)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00pm

this is spooky! O.o I loved it :D especially the graphics! in 72 hours, that is amazing!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Love the game, great work !

saguaro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24pm

OMG the mood and atmosphere in this game. Totally creeped me out. Loved it.

cacciatc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Awesome entry!

pLaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Overall a very well made horror game! Got scared several times. It has its minor technical flaws, but I would attribute that to the short time period you had to finish it. There is a lot of content in there! I really like the avatar and the GUI graphics. Audio is very appealing, too.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:49am

Awesome, great interpretation of the theme! It just had a weird control scheme. but that is all. very good job!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51am

Extra points for ResidentEvil-like vibe! .. menu, intro, mansion... even knife and crazy control scheme! :D

Great!

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Nice game! :)

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Love the pixel art, audio and atmosphere in the game!

I did find the limited view a bit too limited, although I understand its idea. The problem is that I'd end up stutter-stepping where I knew there'd be enemies to get the upper hand. Also had some slight troubles entering some doors, even though they showed the W prompt.

Other than that - fantastic game :)

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Awesome! Great job!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Screenshots look very cool, but im a linux user :)

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

I couldn't get very far because I suck at this type of games, but man, what a game you have here!
The only thing that got me slightly upset was the control scheme, but you managed to scare me in some moments of the game :D

Tifu says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:51am

Cool game, wish it had a save function. I made a bit of progress, got two artefacts, then got attacked by ghost with no ammo to defend myself D:
Doors seem kind of buggy, the W appearing when you aren't in the correct spot/only being able to exit through a specific door when you can see there are double doors etc.
Good job though. Great atmosphere. Will look forward to polished version :D

Dans17 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Wow, this game was really well done! It's the only other horror game I've seen so far besides my own. After multiple attempts I was finally able to beat the game. Reloading was a little weird; I think you should be able to reload even if the clip isn't completely empty. I also found a couple more bugs: When you use your Specter Radar after you've defeated the first boss ghost, it comes up red, which makes sense, but after you kill the second one, it doesn't work at all. Also, the game closes immediately when you finish the game so I wasn't able to see what my reward was :(

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Very good game, super atmosphere and the hud S2.

AlucardX60 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:32am

Okay I finally got a download manager that would download this file.

Wow the graphics and the atmosphere in this game are top notch! Playing this kinda reminded me of the first time I played Resident Evil, back when it was scary.

It's pretty tough though, I run out of bullets really fast and I take at least one hit every time I use the knife.

I didn't get very far but I'll keep playing and keep a lookout for a polished version.

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:32am

Thanks for the creative feedback, people! Very much appreciated. Everything you say will be taken into consideration and work is already in progress on a post-compo version with new content, polished gameplay and a few reimagined aspects.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:20pm

The art and animations! Holy smokes! Bravo!

HellBlazer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Great creepy atmosphere, and a good amount of content for a game jam.

Why can you only see your clips on the pause screen though? It took me a while to realize I had more than one. I managed to kill two specters, but I couldn't find the second item (the green one in your screenshot) anywhere for some reason... ah well. In any case, excellent work.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:45am

I DL'd it twice, but each time I get a message saying that the zipped file can't be extracted... A pity, too, since this looks awesome!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Can't play windows games... can I get a web ver? Your art assets look great...

lotusgame says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice atmosphere and i like the graphics. Nice sprite gesture. I was afraid one times :)

But i don't understand why some doors are half-transparent.

doomista says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice entry. Good old memories to Resident Evil :)

barryrowe says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:13am

Great horror feel, and nice graphics/audio. Difficulty is right on as well. Very well done!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:12am

Damn, that was good! :D Great art and music, super moody and that thunder made me jump from my chair. The controls where a bit strange though. Fantastic work!

Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Well done. I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KSNN8ZCA9kQ

Mapboy says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:44am

This is an amazing game to play, really enjoyed it! :D

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Probably players said 'too many controls' seeing above list but actually there is 'too little' in my opinion. I loved animations, how the game looks like and the atmosphere more than anything. I could play a longer game like this without more action than this and with a storyline without getting bored at all. Awesome job. Gratz.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]