Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Vikings

by sharpcoder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space Vikings! This is a resource management game that lets you control a raid ship en route to the corner of the known universe. No longer are the Jarls and Varls bound by mere galactic borders. Once they discovered Odin's Box, a raiding party quickly gathered their gear and headed TO WAR! Backed with the strength of Thor and the wisdom of Odin, nothing can stop these inquisitive adventurers.

MOUSE - This is a resource management game, it's entirely controlled through the mouse. Once you're in-game, there are a series of buttons on the bottom of the screen. Use them to take an action. This game relies on a turn-based mechanic, so once you've made your move - wait for the retaliation (if one happens). Use your turn wisely. Each iteration, food will automatically be deducted used based on how many crew you have hired. Additionally, most actions take some amount of Metal.

Good luck!

NOTE: If you speak Swedish, I'm sorry. The death screen has a vocal soundtrack wherein I attempt to sing a Swedish Hymn in a sort of choir style. I probably butchered the sounds and for that - I apologize!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#103Humor3.33
#197Audio3.36
#413Fun3.21
#452Graphics3.23
#515Mood3.04
#565Overall3.20
#669Innovation3.02
#877Theme2.73

Comments

Adjotur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32am

After I figured out what I was doing I found it really fun and clever! Cool game, loved the graphics and audio.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

Pretty cool survival game! It took a few to figure out what resources corresponded to what but this was well done! Liked the graphics and the lullaby when I died :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

Took me a while to figure out what I was doing...even then, I found myself with almost always just the one decision to launch a raid, until I eventually backed myself into a corner and died. I feel like with some balancing and more decisions, this game could be really good.

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56am

COuldn't figure out how to play :(

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

Just finish the serie Vikings and i m happy to find your game, was hard to understand at the start but very fun after ! :)

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59am

took me a while to understand, but I found pretty cool and the sound is very smooth

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

I loved this. I liked the slow pace. It wasn't immediately obvious how the upgrades worked and what's the winning strategy, but that discovery was part of the fun. Good job!

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

This doesn't seem to run in Firefox at the moment. Is there a fix for this in the works by chance?

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

@burgerdare Oi! I tested it in IE, Chrome, and Opera. I figured that would be good enough. Guess I was wrong :) Thanks for letting me know, I've already uploaded the patch.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

My first time around I got stuck in an endless loop of raid and repair since I didn't upgrade right away, but after that run it was a lot of fun! Go Space Vikings!

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51am

One of the better looking entries! Love the music. :D

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46am

Love the sounds in this. Well executed game, small learning curve but its easy to get the grasp of. Well done!

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

Valhalla awaits! :D Nice game, I like especially the theme. The music went well with the game.

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

Good effort!

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

Haha, you used the same 'sound tool' than me :)
Like the idea, but i didn't get the hang of it, maybe a better explanation on the game mechanics would help the uninitiatied players.

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56am

Very solid entry! The graphics are great, and the game is fun! I like the "cross over" feel this game gives. Keep up the great work! :)

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

I felt very much at the whim of a random number generator. Nonetheless, it's a fun little thing. I like the atmosphere and graphics. I made it to 56 weeks, and was basically having fun. I just wish that I felt like I could make any kind of progress at all. I never felt like I was making a difficult tactical decision, the correct thing to do was very obvious.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I had a good time with this, but I couldn't help but feel like boat repairs were a bit overpowered. It only costs 10 metal, which can be achieved in one attack for the price of one armor. In exchange, you repair three pieces of armor. Assuming that you revert to combat whenever you only have two shields left, this cycle can (to the best of my knowledge) be repeated indefinitely without much skill or strategy.

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

25 weeks! I loved the sounds! Both the sfx and the guitar (banjo?) in the background. It gave a very Dwarf-Fortressy vibe, which is good.

The game itself would benefit from a small tutorial or mouse-over for the different actions so I know what influences what. Other then that, pretty cool!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Hi. First of all.. That singing is very special! Love the weird juxtapositions in this... "warning, shields are low" voice, for example. Had fun playing your game, thank you.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Nice game!

sportsquid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

quite addicting! So simple yet challenging, and so much fun!

Otopkin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Simple (once you understand which resource do what) and fun. By the way 58 weeks n00bs beat me if you can

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21pm

It has an interesting turn based mechanic. It's relatively simple but is still a cool concept.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Atomic Vikings approve of this game! it is awesome! accurate depiction of how vikings will one day rule the universe! :D

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

A lot of fun, but it's not always clear why I can't do certain options. Regardless, I kept playing over and over :-)

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Took a few tries to figure it out, but it was pretty fun once I got the hang of it. The moving HUD was frustrating, since I wanted to see how much of each resource I had at the end of my turn and had to memorize the stats before choosing an action to see the effect. Overall it was very charming and I quite liked it.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Bonus points for singing. XD

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11am

Haven't figured out the pattern yet, but this is a nice concept and fun to play.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Nice game. Felt like every time I upgraded earth got stronger too :(

xrm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

Didn't know what I was doing!. Very nice graphics and sounds.

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Spaceboat, yeah? Cool idea!

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I survived 146 weeks of battle!... The ukulele was very calming. I lost track how much time I spent playing this one. I think it'd make a hit on a tablet/touch device! Satisfyingly long gameplay out of simple mechanics made for a pleasurable experience.

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:27pm

I liked the concept. Would have liked the animations to play faster, so I could have put more focus on selecting the actions & seeing results... completing one action took bit of time.

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:36pm

This is pretty fun! There's a good deal of strategy and forward-thinking necessary to advance in this game, and it does get pretty tricky once level 2 begins. I do have to mention, though, that the game would have been a lot easier if action costs were shown. Since the crew size (and maybe even other things) changes how much actions cost in food/metal, it's not possible to know costs in advance and managing resources becomes a series of gambles. If that were fixed there'd be no problem.

The calming music did a nice job of setting up a "floating in space" mood, which was strangely fitting despite the game's objective of PLANETARY ANNIHILATION. The silly sound effects (chickens!) supported this style, and frankly I'm glad you went the silly route since it made the game more inviting to play.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:11am

cute visuals, congrats on the entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]