Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceMail

by Denisre3 - Jam Entry

My fisrt entry for Ludum Dare, a space mail delivery company simulator.
I made it in 48 hours and put it as a jam entry just in case I broke some of the compo rules.
The objective is to deliver mails to the different planets using your spaceships.
You can buy new ships, unlock the routes to new planets and buy upgrades to improve your spaceships.
You can earn money by delivering mails.
If the mails that a planet is waiting to send to another planet are more than 100, you lose.

Controls: Left click on a not bought planet, spaceship or upgrade to buy it(if you have the money).
Left click to an alredy bought spaceship to select it (alternatively you can use the number keys).
If a spaceship has landed on a planet, left click that planet while you have that spaceship selected to open the trade window. You can move mail from the ship to the planet by left clicking on the numbers on the left side, and from the planet to the spaceship by left clicking on those to the right side.
Right click to a planet to make you spaceship move to that planet(you can only move to planets connected to the one the spaceship is on and travelling takes time.)
Every planet has his color and the mails you have to send to that planet are of the same color.

Made in Processing.
Music by Bach (Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068).
Background and planet images found on Google images and modified with Paint.net
All other icons made with Paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#306Theme(Jam)3.33
#372Fun(Jam)3.05
#505Innovation(Jam)2.81
#573Audio(Jam)2.32
#622Overall(Jam)2.83
#639Mood(Jam)2.53
#704Graphics(Jam)2.38
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:06pm

It took a while to work out what I was supposed to be doing, but it was fun once I'd gotten into it!
I can't work out the game over condition though, is it just a time limit?

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Thank you for you comment.
As written in the description, the game over triggers when the mails that a planet has to send to another planet (the little numbers on top of each planet) reach 100.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I liked the complexity of the game, but the graphics were a bit anoying.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Really nice graphics :) looks awesome

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15pm

unfortunetaly, it won't run on my linux mint/ ubuntu system

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice game, but unfortunately, not all of it got on my screen :C

Paladin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

So, perhaps you've submitted to the compo by mistake?

"All game code and content must be created within the 48 hours." I'm pretty sure you are not Johann Sebastian Bach, and even if, the Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D has not - to my knowledge - been created in the last 48h. (Same for the Google pictures.)

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Yeah, sorry for that.
Thanks for making me notice that.
I have changed it to a jam entry now.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Fun game :)

It got pretty hectic with a lot of planets and ships, but it got more fun the more there was to do. I liked the extra upgrades you could buy as well.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04am

I like the gameplay, but graphics-wise 2 different styles collide and it doesn't blend well.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37am

I can't say I enjoyed it. The mechanics were good, the graphics, well, it's ludum dare. I can't complain about that.
My main issue was the user interface really didn't tell me much about what was going on. I had no idea if I had launched a spaceship without actually checking the planet and seeing if I could select it. Or how close it was to the destination. Basically figuring the game out was a matter of trial and error, but I had little feedback on if I was doing something.

Once I understood it was more enjoyable. I like the take on the theme, keeping worlds connected! as said, the mechanics were good. I just didn't know what was happening when.

aneeslol says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27am

That was actually pretty fun once I got a few planets and ships going. There probably should've been a check so that you don't accidentally kill yourself by putting 100 mails on the wrong planet like I did though >_>. Also maybe a limit on how much a ship can carry, unless I just never ended up reaching that limit.

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I can't run it on Linux :(

==== JavaSound Minim Error ====
==== Don't know the ID3 code TSSE

==== JavaSound Minim Error ====
==== Don't know the ID3 code APIC

The file "Velocità.png" is missing or inaccessible, make sure the URL is valid or that the file has been added to your sketch and is readable.
Exception in thread "Animation Thread" java.lang.NullPointerException
at processing.core.PGraphics.image(PGraphics.java:3572)
at processing.core.PApplet.image(PApplet.java:12773)
at SpaceMail.draw(SpaceMail.java:278)
at processing.core.PApplet.handleDraw(PApplet.java:2386)
at processing.core.PGraphicsJava2D.requestDraw(PGraphicsJava2D.java:240)
at processing.core.PApplet.run(PApplet.java:2256)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45am

It was definately a neat game once you got the hang of it - I only wish all of the art was in the same style.

Shivur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Good concept.

Tosic says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I click on it and nothing happens, but I really wanted to play.

P.S. Funny thing, I made my game in 48 hours and put it in the jam for the same reasons as you!

Aomeas says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Well, that's neat but also repetitive :/
Not really my kind of game

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Would be helpful if the window could be re-sized to fit on my screen. The controls were a bit confusing, but fun to play once you figure it out.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:45pm

You can easy kill yourself when you transfere more than 100 mails to the wrong planet^^. Nice relaxing game ;)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Good idea for a game. I lol'd a bit reading the description about the jam vs compo rules and then hearing the music - even at the time, I doubt that was composed in 48 hours :)

CoolIron says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:42am

Can't play it. Just white window :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]