Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Expedition

by holgk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Expedition is the title of my second LD game.

Compo vs Post Compo:
After some complains of game speed. I added a some speed buttons. So recommend the post compo version, but the compo version is still online.

short summary:
The Mankind made contact with an extraterrestrial life form through radio waves.
You are send out to find them in the wide open space.
You need to trade your way through them.

How to play:
- Make connection between stars (Connections are required for space ships to move between stars)
- Find new stars through exploration
- Build ships and assign them missions to make money so you can pay for new connections and explorations
- With missions you can move ships to other stars
- Move with WASD or arrow keys, zoom with mouse wheel

Have Fun!

Hint for all impatient gamers: You can find the Spoofs on the right upper side.

Made with:
- Unity (including NGUI)
- Cinema 4D
- Photoshop
- Audacity
- bfxr

Post Mortem:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/26/ld30-post-mortem-expedition/

Source Code is here:
http://www.vohks.com/LD/LD30/Source/Expedition_Source_Code.zip

Info for Chrome / Mac users:
I added a unity OS/X build. I do not have a Mac, so I don't know if the bug that Makio reported is in there, too.
If it's a Chrome thing I have to check later, cause I use Firefox.

PS:
If you find typos or bugs. Please send a message or write a comment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#334Theme3.55
#516Graphics3.15
#630Humor2.22
#646Overall3.12
#685Mood2.84
#701Audio2.43
#844Innovation2.78
#934Fun2.60

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Sort of like Transport Tycoon but in space!

Cruion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Good job! The game is interesting and fun to expand. It would be nice if missions could be set between planets that a ship isn't at so it would navigate there then start the mission.

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

That's a really nice game! A way to speed it up would've been nice though.

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

I enjoyed it! Good GUI design given the time you had.

simonnaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Kind of confusing at some moments but I really like the idea. Reminds me of Transport Tycoon.

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Awesome! I hope you have time to check out my entry too, we had a similar idea only you got MUCH more gameplay into yours, beter graphics and a better mood! I really can't rate this highly enough.

Needs a save function and time compression :)

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Need objectives in the game, nice work !

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

I like this kind of game but i get a bug i cannot enter the name of the ship ( chrome / mac ) . i add you to my bookmark to test it later when you fixed it. Cheers !

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Great idea, interesting concept! Very ambitious of you. As some others have said it can get confusing, but when you figure stuff out it's really nice!

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

a great level of polish here, well done!

Andre Blyth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I like the idea of a space economy simulator. I was a little lost at first and I feel the pacing is tad slow.

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

can't figure out how to play

nitram_cero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

A bit confusing at first, as it was pointed out it could benefit from a fast-forward mode. Funny text!

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Interesting game but wasted 5 minutes before figuring out how it works.. needs some more help texts

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

a tutorial would be nice.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54pm

a little bit hard to get in to becuase ther is no tutorial but is a good game.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Good merchant game but you should have mentioned somewhere that you can zoom out. Also ships should be able to start missions from planets they are not at and navigate towards them.

Amvere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

This is impressive!! It was pretty hard to figure out how to play at first, but really nice job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25am

Nice strategy. At the beginning not so clear how to pick direction for research and how to build connection. But audio and mood are really cool.

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30am

Really good job, I concur with the other comment asking for a way to speed things up a bit :)

holgk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I agree with the comments. A tutorial was planed and a way to send ships on a mission by selecting it and clicking to it's destination. But it was a matter of time. Time went off so fast that I wasn't able to implement them.

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice work, lacks maybe a tutorial or a more complete interface. But in 48h time you did really good work with an ambitious idea

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Very cool. Somewhat similar to my game. I think you did a really good job here.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Very nice, reminds me a bit of Ascendancy. Dunno what I did, but one of the planets (Gemini) flew off towards the camera. Was kinda scary. Great aesthetics and atmosphere though, well done.

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I got bored but it also took me a while to figure out how to use the connections. changing the connection notification to say "click on two planets to connect" would have been helpful. The ingame time could also go a lot faster

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:34am

I really enjoy management games, and this is one of them!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16am

Would be nice to expand it. I like this humming ambient background - very spacy :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Interesting game, very well designed!

How did you make that nebula background? It looks brilliant!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06pm

A little slow paced, but apart from that a great game, I really liked the idea.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

It was a little bit difficult to understand

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

A bit confusing! At first thinked I need a tutorial .. but then I really enjoyed it

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

Nice game, congrats!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I think you can find a story which does not set the aim but affects the game in a way. There can be many features added to the game. Try to be creative. I liked this basic version. You also don't have to go 3D if you don't really use it :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I couldn't find any new stars, it was not intuitive on how to do so. Good graphics and atmosphere. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]