Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Click Your Way To Gallifrey!

by DutchDerpyGuy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey!

This is my first Ludum Dare submission, I did participate in a Ludum Dare before, LD 29. But, sadly, I was sick and puked on my keyboard, wich broke. (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/26/too-sick-to-work-any-more-on-my-ld-game/)

So, I learnt from that, I now started with a base game, that I can expand. Wich worked out very well for me.

As you will see, this is clearly programmer art, I've tried a few hours to make decent art, but I can't. This is certainly something I want to practice!
Also, I'm new to programming, so if you notice any weird code or whatever, tell me. I love to improve! :)

I'm happy with my result, I learned a lot, I gained experience, I finished and most importantly: I HAD FUN!


THE GAME:

Click your way to Gallifrey is a doctorwho-ish space clicker, where the buttons move wich makes it so that you have to concentrate really hard.

Controls:

esc - Pause.
leftclick - Click.

Stuff I used:
- Windows 8 as OS.
- the intro was pre-made using gamemaker in the warmup,link: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/16/my-warmup-weekend-thingy/
- The Mingle and Arial fonts.
- Gamemaker Studio Standard for programming.
- Bfxr for Sounds.
- http://abundant-music.com/ for music. (I tried to use FL-Studio and my guitar, but I'm not good enough at it)
- Gimp for graphics
- Google as search-engine.
- Food for not being hungry.
- Water for hydration.
- Coffee for concentration.
- My laptop to do stuff.
- My keyboard to type.
- My mouse to click.
- My chair to sit.
- My desk to put my laptop on.
- My bed to sleep.
- My brain for this fun experience.

Links:
- Twitter: https://twitter.com/DutchDerpyGuy
- my site: http://dutchderpyguy.comuv.com/
- I'm In post: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/03/im-in-lets-not-get-sick-and-puke-on-my-keyboard-this-time/
- gamemaker studio (free) for the source: http://www.yoyogames.com/studio/download



PS: Can anyone make working Mac, Linux and/or maybe html excecutables with Gamemaker studio pro/ultimate. You'll be credited and you will make me very happy!


EDIT: New executable and source code, fixed a bug.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2202Coolness0%

Comments

DupeMaster says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:38pm

this is your first game and you're already asking for donations (=.=)|||

DutchDerpyGuy says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Haha, not asking, only if somebody feels like it or whatever, I have that link for ages now ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

I cannot help but admire the sheer brutality of this. Nicely done ;P

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

Learn how to art, it will make this a lot better! :D

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:03am

this was a simple but fun idea!
had fun trading human souls for material objects
(*evil laughs* ;) )
Great job!

Endurion says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Nice little game.

The small black font on purple background was probably not the best idea :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]