Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boing!

by dweebster - Jam Entry

This is a silly game that my sons (4, 6 years) came up with. They wanted a game that you could race with hot Wheel cars.

After some brainstorming we came up with this. Some of the graphics and sfx is their work!

We cheated on the music :)

Unity was used as a game engine!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#74Fun(Jam)3.67
#273Overall(Jam)3.38
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#486Theme(Jam)2.93
#710Graphics(Jam)2.33
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Cool twist on the physics car games, the only problems I had were that the car didn't seem to decelerate fast enough and the gravity was a bit floaty. Good game! :)

dweebster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31pm

@mactinite thanx bro! It needs a bit more tweeking. Will work on it in the coming days.

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Wooo, made it to orbit, then I had to restart the level. The jumps are fun.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32am

Hi there. Like the look and feel of your game. Little touches like exhaust gas very nice. On level 3 ended upside down on target tiny planet, unable to move or restart.

dweebster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Hey there all, thanks for the feeback and trying my game out!

@mrexcessive yeah you will get stuck on the roof of the car and that is on purpose. There is a big restart button on the top left of the screen, that restarts the level :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27pm

This one is surprisingly good! Very interesting twist on gameplay! Nice job!

spolsh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Great theme miusic. Really enjoyable gameplay. Completed all lvls :D

CogComp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Great game! Easy to understand and hard to master. The way the gravity works is really funny and makes it a fund challenge!

dweebster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I'm still working on this game and if you want to check out the latest progress try it here: http://www.casualgames.nu/Booiing_Web.html

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Silly little game, I enjoyed it for what it was. It was a little frustrating though, since the controls are strange, at first I thought I was controlling gravity. Once I get used to it, I completed it after a while.

dweebster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:13pm

@Skyfish, thats spot on. Its a silly Little game but hopefully people will enjoy it for just that :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:23pm

The music is quite funny. It is hard however not to fly off into space. Great work here, I love physics based games :)

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:33pm

ahaha this is brilliant.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Nice and clean little game! Good job!

dook says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:57pm

hehe this is awesome. Very lovely gravity thing... haven't played anything like it I think. :) It's great that you're making games with your kids!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]