Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connecting Flights Through Space

by Crawler Studios - Jam Entry

Made in about 10 hours. Entered into jam just in case I broke a Compo rule. Used Unity, Blender, GIMP, and Audacity.

You are a space plane commander flying your ship through space from planet to planet, dropping off passengers as you go. Fly through all 5 planets to win. Connect worlds by taking people from one planet to the next, but be careful of asteroids, and watch your flight path, make sure you don't drift off.

(If web is buggy download for windows)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#457Audio(Jam)2.87
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00
#528Theme(Jam)2.80
#629Overall(Jam)2.81
#708Fun(Jam)2.27
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:40am

Very fun, enjoyable solid game!

Mythril says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:32am

fun, for just about as long as the game last. that being said you can run through this with out firing a single shot. you have plenty of time to make this a useful mechanic. best of luck! ,Team Mythril

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:10am

The interesting sensation of falling into the abyss. At first it is very difficult to understand the dimensions of the ship and meteorites.

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:22am

Very fun

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:44am

I like the trip. It's very oneiric. May be it's a bit difficult cause it's hard to understand the space.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:06am

Good job, it was a very enjoyable experience

orukinawa says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:05pm

nice game but it randomly crashes from time to time :(

Roknsk says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:53pm

That was really fun.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

for only ten hours, this is actually pretty cool. It's a bit rough around the edges, but with some polish it could certainly be an exciting, almost star-fox like experience.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Hi. Like the graphics and strange spaceship sounds. Found it hard to just position relative to asteroids, but that's probably me.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37pm

I had problems firing my laser. It only fired about every tenth button press. Graphics seemed nice.

Bernte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Solid game so far. Collision bit messy for me. But fun :)

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23am

I can't figure out how to get past the giant boulder in the second level.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Beautiful music!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

This looks really neat, but I had similar problems with the laser not firing on level 2 (and if I left the narrow space corridor, then I'd lose the level without knowing why--there was no apparent danger). On another note, the music is great, but I think your guitar is a bit out of tune. I liked the graphics, and the idea... it's really great to see space shooters. Thank you for the game!

DarkCart says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]