Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drift

by hyouko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Adrift on the ocean, find your friends or you will surely perish.

---------

Post-compo version available here, including a win32 port:
https://github.com/hyouko/ld30/releases/tag/1.0.2

(I fixed up the font a bit, but my handwriting is still pretty lousy. Sorry about that! And for judging purposes you should use the linked versions on this page.)

To play this game, I recommend a wired mouse with two button (and a scroll wheel is a plus). If you're stuck with a trackpad, you can click and hit spacebar to disconnect ropes.

For Linux folks: grab LOVE ( http://www.love2d.org/ ), and you'll be able to play the .love file linked below... sadly I can't build Linux binaries.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Humor2.65
#387Innovation3.38
#514Overall3.25
#534Graphics3.13
#610Audio2.62
#699Fun2.88
#882Mood2.60
#1045Theme2.36
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

Windows version also requires Love

cobrajs says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20am

Pretty interesting concept, but the font was really hard to read at first... the "o" in particular looks like a "c", so I got a bit confused. Graphics are alright, but the overall graphical theme could use some work. Nice work though!

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

doesn't work

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25am

@nick, Skills - thanks for the heads up, fixed the Windows link.

I'm going to try to fix the font to be a bit more readable and release that as a post-compo version... I figure I'm stuck with what I have now for the compo release. Curse my terrible handwriting!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35am

Loved everything, great game!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29am

The physics need some more polishing.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57am

Fun game, physics based games always seem to give the players some creativity in their choices, and your maps seemed to accommodate that well. I really like the water graphics.

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

Good game, the graphics were good. Font could have been a little more readable, also the physics need little improvement. Overall I enjoyed playing it.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I like the idea and the mechanics, mostly had fun playing it. The sound effects are a little annoying though, for some reason. Good job!

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12am

That was actually really enjoyable. Starting with a tutorial that explained the controls but left you to experiment with the physics. The graphics looked nice (especially the water) although they didn't feel very original. As stated, the text really was quite hard to read. But the mechanics felt quite elegant with the physics. It was oddly satisfying to chain up a bunch of rafts and try to charge through the level while bouncing all over the place.

Good job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31am

Wow, what an interesting and different game, fun to play and overall well done!

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Apparently I can't run it because I'm running 32 bit Windows? :(

hyouko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49pm

@Mali - Ah, sorry about that! I'll see about making a 32-bit Windows version. In the meantime, you can grab the 32-bit LOVE distribution here:

https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love-0.9.1-win32.exe

Installing that should let you play the .love file version that's linked above. Fair warning: if you are running on an older/slower machine, this game is likely going to chug a bit. Lots of totally unoptimized physics equations running in the background.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Cool game! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/_ZcQE6pTBcc

allenfreese says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Like others said, the font is pretty hard to see at points, so the instructions aren't clear. Nice work tho!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:03pm

This is really really nice, and mechanically interesting. But also driving me insane with difficulty. Being able to zoom out helps quit ea bit, but Maybe I just don't have an aptitude for this kind of thing. I COULD not complete the gunboat tutorial.

I really like the sound.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I apologize for the lack of editing in my previous comment. My babel fish is malfunctioning.

hyouko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:27pm

@nintendoeats - no worries! A hint for the gunboat tutorial: it's a big, open ocean. The gunboats won't go after you unless you unless you get fairly close...

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:05am

Tricky!

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:06am

The idea is good, but, having an apple magic mouse, I cannot press the two buttons at the same time, so I can't complete the second level of the tutorial. Too bad!

hyouko says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:36am

You can also click and use the spacebar to disconnect ropes. That said, you don't need to disconnect to complete the second level! (Probably not technically needed in the third, either, but it'd get very hard with all the mines floating about.)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]