Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Why I'm Not a Game Dev

by mattr555 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I submitted to LD28, but this is really my first Ludum Dare where I actually made an idea and a "conventional" game.

This is a platformer heavily based on the Phaser.js tutorial (http://www.photonstorm.com/phaser/tutorial-making-your-first-phaser-game), but adapted to the theme. You'll choose war or peace, but make sure you chose correctly!

Oh, the name? You'll see...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2124Coolness10%

Comments

rantt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

The dialogue was amusing. I thought it was pretty funny.

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:21am

i actually laughed out loud

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:41am

It's not the best but it's not that bad. The art is stunning :) and your "mouse writing" is pretty. You have to learn how to make a decent jump for the next LD and that's all.

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10am

That mugger! Great art, such quality.

dix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:33am

Nice one :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Surreal. Clearly you are a game developer though as you developed a game.

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Not as bad for a first game, actually i really like the choose for graphics, with a better (but still drawn) animation it could get like a childhood mood.

The idea of same object but twice effect (depend of the world) could done a real fun game. Your idea is good, just need more work.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16am

fun idea :) the gameplay could be more challenging

lorniebear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I like it! It reminds me of the sort of thing I would make about a year ago. You should use what I used- Scratch! (scratch.mit.edu). It would be easier to learn how to make even more complex games!

HayManMarc says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:35am

Ok.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]