Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Cold Night

by geoisgame - Jam Entry

A mostly incomplete RTS about possessing random villagers. Using a spirit army, you and your enemy possess neutral units and bend them to your will.

Attack villagers and enemy units with your ghosts to possess them, and destroy your enemy's temple to win.

CONTROLS:
Left mouse button - select units
Right mouse button - command units
Middle mouse button/arrow keys/WASD - move camera

1, 2, 3, and 4 keys - when villager unit selected, turns them into 1 of 4 different buildings. (Place spirits in these buildings to spawn more powerful combat units.)

x, c, v, b, n, and m keys - don't cheat...

PLAYERS:
Human(You!) - green dot above units and green health bar.
Neutral - grey dot above units and grey health bar.
Enemy AI - red dot above units and red health bar.

UNITS:
Ghost-thing - spirit. Store in buildings or take over other units.
Yellow cube buildings - temples. Your spirits start here. Destroy your enemies temple before they destroy yours.
Grey unit - villager. Weak attackers but can become buildings.
Green unit - soldier. Standard melee attacker.
Blue unit - ranged attacker. Attacks enemy units from a distance.
Red unit - fast assassin. Quick and deals heavy damage.
Big orange unit - tank. Can take many hits and good at destroying buildings.
Tents - each has a different symbol indicating the unit they spawn.
Igloos - neutral buildings which spawns villagers.

CURRENT GAME-BREAKING BUGS:
Runs slow in HTML5 on lower-end computers.

NEWS:
Almost all minor game-breaking bugs fixed!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#390Humor(Jam)2.40
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#476Audio(Jam)2.81
#478Graphics(Jam)3.14
#512Innovation(Jam)2.80
#565Overall(Jam)2.94
#638Fun(Jam)2.54
#691Theme(Jam)2.18

Comments

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59am

Woo we both did an isometric game :D
Took a while to understand the controls, could be a really good game with a little polish.
->Collision could be better (It's juddering)

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03am

Interesting approach.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Wow, you are ultrahardcore coder(s) & artist(s) making isometric RTS during 72 hours! Has some problems in rendering order, still good-looking game.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Didnt know how to move the camera :(

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:20am

Visually appealing but it is difficult to understand what is going on. Good effort for a jam game. Well done!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:23am

Cute! I like that the controls are simple, but there's a nice element of strategy to it. A fun game without being too complex. :)

borgi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Yeah an RTS! :D
Nice gameplay and impressive implementation! Good job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:13pm

An RTS: ambitious! It took me quite a while to figure out what was going on; even just reiterating in-game that you're possessing other units would be helpful. Nice job on the music.

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Very ambitious game , and it's mostly there in terms of playability, but I had a difficult time playing it. Maybe it needs more detailed instructions?

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Woah this was creepy. I have a special place in my heart for RTS games.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Creepy graphics. Controls took a bit to understand.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:34am

+Overall +Graphics +Tech :)

I've tried my hand at making RTS before, so can appreciate some of the finer problems you tackled with finesse.

Very impressive :)

chongdashu says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:46am

Pretty impressive for such a short amount of time!

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Looks really nice, like the concept! Good work :)

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Nice art style

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]