Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Strangers From Space

by ALobker - Jam Entry

Your ship has crashed in an earth village. Because your crash has caused destruction, the people in the town are angry with you. You must help the townspeople to earn their gratitude.


Controls
Player 1: Arrow keys, Enter (interact), Ctrl (mission log)
Player 2: WASD, 1 (interact), 2 (mission log)
Player 3: Controller, A (interact), Y (mission log)
Player 4: Controller 2, A (interact), Y (mission log)


Created by:
Antony Lobker - Programming
Lucas Lobker - Design / Art
Ivo de Vetten - Models
Gijsbert Gelauff - Moral support


Created in Unity. Mac and Linux versions can be compiled from source.


PS: We were doing something else on saturday evening. Guess what it is.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#239Humor(Jam)2.78
#611Mood(Jam)2.63
#618Innovation(Jam)2.57
#619Theme(Jam)2.48
#626Graphics(Jam)2.76
#715Fun(Jam)2.24
#757Overall(Jam)2.43
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Pushing the ball around made me lol

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:18pm

loved the vector style trees!
Would be nice to see a more consistent art style throughout the game though, as the trees compared to other parts of the game looked a little out of place

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Very cute concept! Trees are beautiful.

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Nice entry... didn't really understand what i was doing but had a nice time wandering around. Good job for putting in multi-player!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:54pm

This control is to difficult! Ctrl is too far of enter, and enter is a bad choice to use with button.
The game is a little confused and I didn't get how complete the missions :/
BUT, I like to play football :)

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Does this game have an ending? I had 100% but the game didn't finish. I didn't read the missions I just ran around in a circle talking to everyone which finished all missions eventually.

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:09pm

@kaa: The trees were made in blender. They are simply a combination of a shape called icosahedron and a cylinder.

@hoythoy: (R)Ctrl and Enter are really close on my keyboard, there's just a shift between them. To complete missions, talk to all the characters. They will tell you what to do.

@Kayelgee: There's no ending, mostly because lack of time.

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Nice and innovative, although there were some bugs (a dude turning around all the time and I was sliding down all the time), also no sound in the game :(
But I like the graphics and the icospheres you used for trees! :D

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:10pm

The gameplay is a bit one dimensional and an ending screen would have made it a bit more round. But still, nice work.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:35pm

it would be nice to have an indication of where your current mission goals are - like direction markers at the edge of the window, or something. also some audio would make a lot of difference. good work overall though :)

ALobker says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:12am

@Tosic: The physics are standard unity. Either they don't work properly or I don't know how to use them.

@Dry Tree: We did not place markers on purpose, exploring is part of the fun!

Hippolyta says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:16am

Good idea with the multi-player!
The graphics looks inconsistent and some (walk) animations would be great ;-)
But a nice starting point for a real game!

spacedoubt says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:47am

Super cool! I dug this one.

spacedoubt says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:50am

oh yeah, meant to say, I can't believe no one's commented on the tardis. I wanted to get in that thing so bad!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]