Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gifts of the Forest

by Nut - Jam Entry

I ran out of steam a bit, so there aren't nearly as many puzzles as I hoped for. That's what I get for saving most of the level design for last!

Anyway I learned a lot from this jam; PuzzleScript has gotten a lot nicer since LD28 (my last Ludum Dare). I hope you enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#144Mood(Jam)3.59
#173Fun(Jam)3.42
#213Audio(Jam)3.42
#217Overall(Jam)3.44
#278Innovation(Jam)3.21
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#460Theme(Jam)3.00
#513Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:37am

Fun puzzler. Really liked the music. Took me a maddening amount of time to light up the second gate (?) I came across. Kept getting the pieces in *just* the wrong order. Probably the best puzzle game I've played yet this time around though.

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Fine game but font needs to be more readable.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:07pm

+puzzle
+music
-gameplay

Nut says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Thanks for the reviews!

TideS: yeah I agree about the font, I wonder if I could hack puzzlescript to use a better one or something

Puppetmaster: would you mind saying something about what you didn't like about the gameplay?

owyoow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

great puzzle game. I really enjoyed it.

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Love the music!

Nut says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Thanks owyoow and grillaface!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:57pm

this game is brilliant, very simple execution yet it has adventure, discovery and puzzle elements combined. well done

rojo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Pretty fun, with decent puzzles. The music was pretty solid.

dook says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Sweet little puzzler. And pretty challenging too. (For me at least :))

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Love the complete mood. Took me some time to understand what all this is about. Maybe it was the level of graphical abstraction that made it difficult.

Nut says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Yay more reviews! Thanks so much everybody I'm really glad you like my game : )

Draknek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

This is lovely! I think it's a good length.

Nice way of doing pulling as well as pushing, too.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I voted the gameplay negative because of the puzzlescript limitations. Hand from the player stick on the stone, need to change direction to take it away. When you need to do it one a small place, it feelt negative.

Nut says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42am

Draknek: Thanks so much! Really glad you liked it

Puppetmaster: OK, thanks for the feedback. I tried the "grab on" mechanic as a way to allow pulling blocks without forcing you to pull when you don't want to, and I think overall it works pretty well, but yeah having to move sideways to let go is sometimes counterintuitive. I'd love to hear suggestions if you have an idea for a better control scheme.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:13am

Very nice soundtrack :)

Nut says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Thanks nonetheless!

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Great game. The puzzles are good. The graphics are simple but nice. The music and sound are calm and relaxing. Story is interesting. Only problem is I didn't figure out how to end it, just kept wandering and then got lost and gave up...

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Font is hard to read, and I don't like the idea that I can talk with someone only once. I like very mych possibility to undo! I think it's first time I saw undo in such type of game and reaction is very positive. Also nice dialogues, makes a game mood. Keep going making games!

Nut says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Thank you for the reviews OinkIguana and wdebowicz!

AdricZero says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Agree with comment about text being difficult to read.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:58pm

The puzzles are well-designed, it was fun to play!

Nut says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:06am

Thanks for playing it, AdricZero and dancingmad!

Digiraze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I really enjoyed this puzzle game, played it through to the end.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:49am

Nice game liked it

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:27pm

It is said that this is a good game. Visuals could be better but the story was a good addition. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]