Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

River bank maze

by reecpj - Jam Entry

Collect power ups to change the world around you and help your animal friend to the fountain. A randomly-generated puzzle platformer game. Press R to restart (sometimes the game is unsolvable). Play with another person or by yourself.

Fox's controls: WASD to move and space to use power
Fish's controls: Arrow keys to move and enter to use power.

The powers are:
- Jump over the next tile (if a power up is in the next tile you collect it)
- Swap the current tile with the next tile
- Shift the current row down by two
- Make a tile marsh (so both of you can use it)

Made in 48 hours by Steve Tucker and Patrick Reece. Music is Jump For Joy by Christopher Brooke from audionetwork.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Audio(Jam)4.15
#62Overall(Jam)3.86
#81Innovation(Jam)3.70
#92Fun(Jam)3.60
#100Mood(Jam)3.74
#146Graphics(Jam)4.00
#175Theme(Jam)3.60
#422Humor(Jam)2.33
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20am

I liked the overall concept of the game, but didn't have the sufficient motivation to play a lot.

eddiegtp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:33am

really cool

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

You made awesome job, graphics music code, my respects ^^
The game is quite annoying after playing once and sometimes it's really easy, sometimes really hard.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

Nice idea and presentation, im not really good with puzzles!

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

Wow, fantastic entry. The music was just lovely! Very creative gameplay, the graphics had a nice style, and the two characters were very cute. I played with myself though haha but it was still fun!! Amazing job.

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:30pm

its not that easy as it looks. good idea

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15am

This is great. The use of the theme is perfect. Great music too. Very well done.

becker929 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30am

This game is very fun to play with two players, which I love! The art and music and atmosphere are adorable, and the gameplay is well-designed. A fun little toy to have on hand with a sweetheart or younger sibling ;)

enteagd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Absolutely fantastic. A couple of simpler levels introducing the mechanics, or the ability to zoom out and view the world a bit more, and this would have been perfect. Minor things though, very well done!

staarland says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Fun game, really cool concept. I got stuck quite quickly but love the idea :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Hi there. Nice idea and models, level layout. I found the powerups and size of first level a bit daunting. A simple tutorial level or two would have been good.

Logan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:04am

A bit tricky to understand, but it makes sense once you've figured it out.
The marsh tile is totally overpowered, though.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I like the concept and the ambiance. However, I think having predefined level puzzles would be a better approach than randomly generating them. As others have said, sometimes it's really easy, and other times is excessively hard. If a player gets a hard level first, that's going to deter them from playing further.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:41pm

This is a nice game and a very cute concept / mood.

I'm not sure the 3d add anything to the game, artwork on title make me think that you could have achieve a better result with pixelart.

anyway congrats for making such a refreshing game in 72h.

Tosic says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:59am

Nice idea, like the graphics! :D

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Fun game, loved the graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]