Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Between Two Worlds

by zeal - Jam Entry

SPACE - JUMP AND INTERACTION
A - LEFT
D - RIGHT

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#376Innovation(Jam)3.05
#429Theme(Jam)3.06
#509Graphics(Jam)3.05
#670Mood(Jam)2.35
#679Fun(Jam)2.42
#726Overall(Jam)2.57
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

zeal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47am

I forgot to include instructions with the game, so: SPACE makes the character jump and interact with his surroundings. A is for left and D is for right. There is no music nor sound, sorry about that. I hope you enjoy it!

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I liked the simple controls, but the NZ hosting took for-----ever to download. Try hosting it someplace else for us US folks...

zeal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47pm

ponywolf: Thanks for pointing that out. I've added another link. Thanks for playing!

phi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I like the silly graphics, but the physics are a little annoying. Also, I didn't understand how to advance from the first room. Maybe it's just me, but I didn't find a way out, maybe you should explain better what's to do.

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Falling out of the screen for the first time was an innovative moment. I like where you were going with the jump (holding down then releasing to spring) but something feels off about the lack of sideways momentum. You have interesting ideas here, I just wish there were more to this game!

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:11pm

i couldnt find a way to pass the first level :P

zeal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Thank you for your comments, guys! I really appreciate them. You're spot on with the physics - I'll fix it in the post Jam version.

SPOILER
You get to the upper cave by jumping on the fly - you must jump in the air and then hit Space once while touching the fly. In the air you hit Space again and he falls down.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Is there more to it than that first room? I didn't find any way to reach that other area you see on the right, in any case. The physics are also a bit wonky. Pretty cute idea for the theme though.

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:23pm

It was interesting to play but I didn't really grasp how to progress in a meaningful way. Tried to catch a fly but without success. It would probably benefit from having a start where it's less hard to die and the player would get a sense of objectives and how to play.

geekygenius says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:33am

There are some really near ideas going on here, it would be cool to see the game after some more work. I really like the spring jump mechanic, and this game has the best application of the theme I've seen so far.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]