Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cat planet

by lorniebear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my third Ludum dare! I didn't get to spend quite as much time as I wanted on the game as I was busy Sunday afternoon and evening, but I just about managed to finish the game. Hope you enjoy the game!

You can check out my dad's game at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/badlydrawnrod/

I made the music on my piano, and I drew all of the pictures myself.

The instructions will be there when you click the link

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#37Humor3.80
#92Mood3.68
#102Audio3.61
#251Graphics3.62
#339Overall3.42
#413Fun3.21
#428Innovation3.32
#430Theme3.42

Comments

Akurn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Haha this is really cute, and the game parts aren't bad at all! well done.

Haighstrom says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:55pm

This is literally epic

CraftedTardis says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Really fun with cute and enjoyable graphics

orukinawa says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:27pm

A bit too much dialogue but that's just me. Really cute art of minigames however :D

EthanWebster says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I love the hand-drawn sprites. Very nice game :)

ming_tea says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:15pm

The art is great and this is pretty fun. I like it. :)

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Cute game. The music was getting alittle tedious...but your better pianoplayer than me :P

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:53pm

This better live up to the original cat planet that raocow played.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:42pm

the art was very suitable,ha ; did you use paint?
also, I agree with orikunawa; dialogue was a bit a much

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I feel like I know how to be a human now

xHatchx says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Like it

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:29am

Solid music. Deff a lot of text and the game is a little easy but fun

madmaw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

So cute! I'm no good at walking though

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10am

I loved having multiple minigames to play, and very cute graphics too! Your handdrawn graphics look at tad dull compared to your computer drawn ones, maybe you can look at using slightly more neutral shades for your digital art or just adjust contrast/saturation on scanned (?) art? c:
But overall great job! ^_^

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:53am

omg yes finally finished it! But I had to because CATS
this game is so adorable well done! Oh and I learned something new about conversation starters :O

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10am

The conversation starters were brilliant. But now I know that you can start conversations with other options than "Daaaaaaaaaad!"

I am proud of you.

--- Dad

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29am

Nice idea, I like the graphics. Impressed with use of Scratch which me and my children have also played with in the past. I thought walking level 20 was a tough demand, but maybe just because I was quite bad at it. Got to lv4...

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I am really impressed by this! Besides maybe the walking minigame the other two were fun to play, the graphics were quite nice and the music was cheerful! Well done!

ceosol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20pm

The cat swaying with the ba du du du ba du du du da da da da da da in the background is hypnotic. You could have some serious subliminal messages going on. Buy Friskies cat food... buy Friskies now... :)

The phone minigame was difficult. Around score 20 I could not read the messages anymore. However it was worth playing it a few times to get to the bwaaawaaa sound effect changing into a human. Nice job on getting all of this done in the time frame.

Tosic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59am

It was really cute, and I like it, just there were few minor bugs in the minigames (I had to press f or i few times...), but eveyrthing has bugs. Overall it is a great game.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21pm

I have a theory that you don't actually exist and this whole thing is just a ploy by your father to get higher ratings on his games. Bu assuming that's no the case (it totally is):

The art is very nice and cute, but to be honest grinding minigames aren't a great game mechanic. Minigames are only good if they're short enough that you don't get bored of them.

Also it''s hard to read some of the text on the phones in the third minigame.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Very nice! No way I'm playing to level 60 though.

I don't actually understand how the levels work. I got a score of > 140 in the typing game (finally just let them fall), but my level wasn't nearly that high (was plenty high enough to satisfy the security cat though). In the walking game, seemed like my level increased even on games where I really sucked.

Nice little piano ditty. Mine has piano music I played, too. :)

alvarop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:27am

Cute game, felt very educational. Hand-drawn graphics are something I love, so you got something going there!

The only complaint I have, is that the game felt like a grindfest at a certain point and I gave up (lvl 60 in everything?... no thanks!). The mini-games are fun for a while and it's really cool to discover the content as you progress in the game.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:00pm

This is one of the most memorable games I've played! It was very original. I think a lot of kids would enjoy playing it. Good luck!

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Epic game! And one in Scratch, what a coincidence! I thought about whether someone would use that when the compo started, and now I know "yes"! This is literally the best game made in Scratch that I ever saw.
Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06pm

My 7 years old daughter enjoy the game. Very cool game, but dialogues times may need adjustments (click perhaps). Nice and cute game.

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

The typing minigame was fun.

rantt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:07pm

I really liked the cute hand drawn graphics, and the piano was nice. I enjoyed it, great job :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

The purple kitty (I forgot her name) is SO ADORABLE. And you have to learn to walk!! AAAWWWWWWWWWW. I LOVE THIS GAME SO MUCH.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

@Thingostudios: Thankyou so much! I'm glad that you like it! The cat's name is Marillion, who is also my cat at home! But my real cat at home doesn't have purple fur... :)

frogcheese says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Aw, this is just the cutest! Really love the hand-drawn art, it makes it feel like a storybook. And I think you've gotten a lot better at game-making too - you say that you didn't have as much time as you wanted, but you still fit three completely different mini-games in there! Great job! :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Really cute! Very entertaining, good way to educate :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Cute little game, I loved the dialogues. I didn't like the grinding though, but very good effort!

Dohan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Cute game with very nice music. I've really enjoyed the walking minigame :3

steve says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

The typing minigame was my favourite and I liked the hand drawn style!

bentog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Very cute entry. Besides some minor glitches it's a good game overall.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Love the hand-drawn look :) I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/1LqxxVg5Vuk

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:16am

Awwww this is awesome! Great job! Keep rocking!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:11pm

like the use of hand drawing and the piano background music, you obviously had a lot of fun doing this cute game, well done :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:59pm

This game is really well thought.
Everything is nicely done and presented. Some good game design.
Hand drawing and piano songs are creating a sweet atmosphere.
Mini games are fun (my favorite is the walking one), although for the talking exercise, at high speed it could be hard to read well the conversation starter.

Suvidriel says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:53am

Haha this is amazing :D

panurge says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:37pm

A very cute and creative concept with fitting art and sound. The minigames are a lot of fun and provide some nice variety. Good work!

(By the way, it's great to see a father and daughter entering the jam together! I hope to do the same with my son one day.)

DrCicero says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:04am

Good audio. At first the graphics may turn you away, but then you notice that they fit very well with the story. Also, good combination of story + games, either part alone would have been strange.

I did like that you still progressed towards your goal even though when failed.

Only the talking minigame was kinda unbalanced. It begins too slow and it is already too fast.

Finally i know what it means to be an human!

robbiehunt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:38pm

You know? I liked this. It has a certain charm that really gets me. Please keep making games, keep progressing!

The graphics were easily my favorite part. Walking was quite challenging! I agree with others than perhaps getting to level 20 was a tall order - however my highscore was 15 so it's possible to get better if you stick with it.

Once again. Absolutely a wonderful game. You dad's right - you're SO gonna surpass him someday :P

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:01am

I really enjoyed the art, music, and light-hearted mood. I wish the backgrounds were also hand-drawn, just so everything fit together. Great job! I hope to play your entry next time!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:10am

I liked pretty much everything it had to offer apart from the talking minigame, what with teleporting phones and all that :P. One time the phones actually followed me all the way to the "main screen" with the security cat! Grinding every skill to 60 was a bit tedious, but I guess it is indeed necessary if I want to be a convincing human.

A planet with only humans and no cats is just too lonely.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

JaJ says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:09am

Cuuute!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]