Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Meowrror

by thiaguera - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two worlds connected through the mirror. But something is out of order and Gerald, The Cat, needs to bring back the balance to the universe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Graphics3.97
#268Humor2.84
#367Theme3.50
#367Audio3.03
#385Mood3.19
#446Overall3.31
#514Fun3.09
#559Innovation3.15
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

I liked the graphics and the idea. Sounds got a bit repetitive and I was getting impatient waiting for the block to move after meowing. Good entry overall!

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Two words: diagonal mirrors.

(Or maybe they are in the game and I just didn't play long enough to see).

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Wow i love the artwork of it... The kitten is so cute... cool meow animation :D I thought I have to order the block in a mirrored order.... so i failed... but now I KNOW WHAT TO DO :D

Why is the cat going to die :.( Why not let it fall asleep?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

This is the best cat-pun-title ever :D

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Sound and graphics were really great!

thiaguera says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51pm

@vividhelix I had to slow the pace due to bugs. Soon I will work on it to make it faster and add a few different behaviors to the blocks.

@xgeovanni there are none. But thank you.

@psychomonster He dies to bring balance back to the chaotic universe

@matthias_zarzecki THANKS!

tillrobby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Cutest game I played ^_^ And music is good too

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Go Gerald Go! Really cute entry, love the art style :)

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Such a cute game, except for when you need to finish the level :<. Really cool work! Looks great!

sputnik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Very nice graphic and theme. Nice idea for the mecanic but a bit repetitive. Good work overall!

dunin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05pm

nice looking game.
but the animation of block moving could be a little faster (when you want push the same block several times, it's long)
And limited the number of "push/meow" available make the game more challenging...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Super cute! Meow!

I enjoyed playing this, and the cat is so darn cute.
I found a bug where if you keep trying to push one block against the other, it will move into the other one.

Also the meow sound does get a bit repetitive after a while... maybe there could be a few different meows? :D

Cute stuff!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

The meow did get repetitive but I still played it to completion! Very fun and cool use of the theme :)

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Really cute puzzle game! I just love that cat's animations and sound. Great graphics and music, all around a very polished game.

The main issue is that there's no difficulty to speak of, apart from trying not to get fooled by the mirroring. As a result it feels very repetitive. Only the last level is slightly harder, but even then, you only have to plan 2 or 3 moves at a time. I also wished you could play a bit faster.

But props to you for trying to make a puzzle game. I think it's really hard to come up with good level design, on top of developing the game, in 48 hours.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Great graphics, cute game. I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/_ZcQE6pTBcc

thiaguera says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Thanks everyone! Good feedbacks. I will try to work on the game after the voting ends.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Hi there. Strange premise! Loved the cat meow and animations, puzzle itself didn't have much at the levels I could get to anyway. Good job!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Good idea and nicely polished. Make the blocks move faster, it's annoying to wait for so long for just a few simple moves. You can call the game "copycat", haha.

doomista says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

In their tongue it's Meowahkiin. Cute-cat-born! Meow!
To be honest, I couldn't resist to shout 'Fus-ro-dah!', when the cat moved the blocks with the power of its 'meow' :D

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:18am

Controls are a bit dodgy, it would be nice to have 8-way movement and more responsive block pushing. Other than that it's a nice game!

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:35am

Be mindful of the colorblind, you already have patterns on the blocks so you could use that as an extra distinguishing factor. I think you could have done a better job of explaining the "weirdest thing" in your world. The thing with why the cat was dying was baffling and didn't really seem to fit the gameplay, so I think you could have spent more time on that. The art was lovely but the sound needed variety. I thought the base puzzle was interesting but the slowness of moving the blocks didn't really add to the experience, and often grew tedious. It just seemed like a bit of a mismatch in intent as to WHY the interaction was super slow. Nice work for the compo, though!

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:36am

Very nice job with the art, and I liked the fundamental concept. The sound effects/music could be better if there was a lot more variation, but I thought the pacing of the difficulty was well done. I would have liked more creativity in the level design, maybe having different room sizes, different movement mechanics, etc.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]