Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Time Warps Inc.

by guscost - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:

Enter: advance dialogue
Left+Right: move
Space: jump
Shift: throw projectile

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Audio4.05
#130Mood3.59
#345Graphics3.45
#538Innovation3.18
#609Theme3.19
#751Overall3.00
#918Fun2.62
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43am

This is a neat idea and wonderful great graphics! However, I'm not entirely sure I get how to send those projectiles back in time? Got it to happen a few times but it wasn't consistent.

Gorgeous and a good idea for a mechanic regardless. Did I miss something in the dialog?

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Nice guitar music! The throwing part was a bit tough to figure out. I liked the atmosphere of the game, and the end.

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice entry
I liked the fact that you actually explained some of the mechanics with physics haha
Also nice guitar there;
Though, you might want to simplify the dialog a bit cause
I'm afraid I got stuck at the projectiles throwing lol
[Maybe I wasn't too careful about the dialoug]
Graphics are awesome and overall a good one

guscost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I'll try to make the throwing mechanics and tutorial level more straightforward. Also I think depending on the framerate the projectile can sometimes go right through the first portal which does not help.

I'll definitely add some more content outside the context of this competition, though. It would be nice to see the mechanics work with more fully realized levels.

And thanks! The graphics turned out pretty good but that's on account of the great Hexels drawing program more than any skill on my part: http://hexraystudios.com/hexels/

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Chilling music and nice graphics. But after a while the game froze?

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42am

gucost: nice tip on the hexels! I will most definitely be checking this out!!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:30am

The jump its really funny! And the music looks great for that atmosphere! Nice job!

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Simple and effective.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

I had to figure out controls myself? What was the whole point of being able to jump? I liked the music though! :)

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:24pm

wow quite nice game and the art is wonderful!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:39pm

very nice, simple but fun and interesting, the audio is pretty good, great music

bobombe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I love the game over! Nice concept.

Kojan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Really great game ! In love with the graphics and the concept

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I nice atmosphere to this game, simple graphics but awesome audio soundtrack to it. I found it humorous as well the the physics-based explanations and the mechanics were interesting, well done!

Glaydur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Not really sure why people like this except for the pretty nice simplistic graphics and guitar solo. I found the game really buggy and the controls weren't explain well. Even at the start I had to smash all the keys in on my keyboard to get it to start.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Nice music and cute art, controls weren't most comfortable to use, though.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Sorry, don't get it. What do I have to do?

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Well i was very confused where to throw. It seems you have throw one thing aimed so that it hits all three red things, starting from left to right.

You should spent more time on gameplay and less on the story next time :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]