Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connessi

by Cash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

READ THIS:
When you're in the menu you can use the UP and DOWN ARROWS to select Play or Exit and ENTER to confirm
--------------
Source Code is included in the archive,this game was made in Game Maker Studio 1.3
--------------
What is Connessi?
Connessi is a 2D puzzle-platform game made in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 30. In Connessi you can move boxes through world
by using your mouse to help 4 little guys in 4 different worlds to get to the end.

How to play:
Use 1-2-3-4 to control a different guy,use the directional keys to move and jump. Use the left mouse button to drag
a box between worlds and release it to place it.

---------------
I had fun making this game and even if it's short and doesn't have a soundtrack I hope you will enjoy playing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Theme3.96
#360Innovation3.42
#534Graphics3.13
#646Overall3.12
#811Fun2.75
#883Audio1.96
#886Mood2.59
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

I really like this! Great and innovative use of the theme. Well done!

Cruion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Good entry. The game was fun and had a good learning mechanism in the beginning to teach players how to continue without directly telling them what to do.
Continuing development of this game would be interesting to see, especially if you have more of the people going into other worlds and that provided more challenge as they were out of their world.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:17am

I'm a bit confused by the above comments, but from my experience there is really nothing to do. Definitely needs a level or two :)

TautNerve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:18am

The idea was good, but the controls were not well optimized
for the concept in my opinion. You have to constantly
switch between positioning your hand on different areas of
the keyboard and the mouse, especially because you can not
switch characters while still having you hand at the
movement keys position. Could be solved in numerous ways
including enabling WASD controls or alternatively letting
the player switch characters by (right/left) clicking their
window. That way you have one hand at a certain area of
the keyboard and the other on the mouse and have more fluid
control.
Also it is important to note that it is not very clear that
you need to press ENTER to start the game and that is
probably why ice cold muffin posted that he is confused.
Overall I think that the concept has a lot of potential and
I liked the colors that you picked, keep it up

Cash says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Thanks for playing everyone, they already told me about the control problem on another place and I agree, when I first started making this game I didn't think about using the mouse so but when I included it I didn't think about adapting the controls. After Ludum Dare I will probably update the download with a version which can let you choose to use WASD or the directional arrows, also I just added a little warning in the description to press ENTER in the menu

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Cool idea, but the game was way too slow. I think two worlds would have been enough, since you were doing the same thing in many of the worlds.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Not sure whats supposed to be going on here art could be a little better

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

As others have said, my biggest complaint was the controls. But, the game is pretty imaginative and I had fun playing it. Good job!

OinkIguana says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Good idea, but controls were a bit questionable. 1234, arrow keys and mouse are all so far apart it takes a lot of hand rearranging to play properly. Also some collisions with the block while it's being dragged were weird.
The game itself is good though, interesting idea and use of theme. Graphics and sound are pretty good.

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I find the concept great ! I think that giving orders to the little guys with the mouse would improve dynamics ;)

I love them btw !

Endurion says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Very good idea!

Finally the last stage looks really interesting, but there's no goal anymore.

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:25am

I really like the black foreground with bold color backgrounds. This one is definitely worth developing past LD.

Benjamin says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Very neat idea and it totally fits to the theme.
The problem is you can kind of "cheat" every level by using just one block like an elevator. If you want to make it more puzzlish you should probably add some ruling, like you can change a block position only one time.
This way it should be possible to make some very challenging level.

For control I guess that just clicking one screen to swap would be easier than 1 2 3 4 keys

Tosic says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Well... sounds are annoying, the game is a little bit annoying, but still a good attempt. Good luck.

Shide says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Cool idea, pretty common though. Controls could be more intuitive. Puzzles are pretty good and fun

StMatn says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Nice concept!
I like the idea that you can move items between worlds, but gameplay seemed to be a little bit slow.
All in all nice work!

arhpositive says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Cool entry. The concept is easy to understand and open for some intriguing level design possibilities, so you should look into continuing your work. Thanks for the game!

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Great game!
I liked the bright colors. Some background music would have been nice but good job nevertheless!

Cash says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I really apreciate everyone commenting and I decided to make a new version of this game after Ludum Dare. This is probably what I'm going to add/fix:
-Modified controls,I will use WASD-1,2,3,4 and Mouse but you'll also be able to customize controls
-You'll only be able to move boxes only when you're on the ground(so you can't cheat and go anywhere)
-New levels,I'm not the best level/puzzle designer but I'll try
-Level editor and a website where you can upload and download other custom levels(hope I'll be able to do this)

Aglavra says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Cool concept, but the game gets repetitive, especially with current controls (because they make gameplay process slower than it could be)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]