Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zeit

by Waterman7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My own take on the many-worlds interpretation. (google it.)
You are caught in an endless time loop and have to fight alongside alternate versions of yourself to survive as long as possible.

I didn't get past the prototype phase on this one, because the mechanic didn't turn out to be as fun to play with as expected and I lost the motivation to keep working on it 14h in.

Check out some of my (finished) games over at http://w7games.bplaced.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#97Innovation3.89
#417Theme3.43
#668Fun2.91
#697Overall3.07
#799Graphics2.72
#829Mood2.67
#858Humor1.86
#959Audio1.63

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

I really like this take on the theme. Mechanic is really interesting as well!

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Great idea. Some ideas are just worth exploring, even if there is no fun at the end. ;)
I like your abstract shapes.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Neat idea and mechanic, you're right in that it needs something more though.

phi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

This is amazing! I'm sure you can figure out a way to make this into an awesome game. The mechanics actually work quite well and once I understood them I loved it. I'd loved to see this project continued!

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Definitely innovative and a great way of approaching the theme.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Great take on the theme! And nice gfx too! Fun to play - yes! Innovative - yes! Shame the sound was missing, but daem' mechanics are great, spooky and great! Liked it! Congratulations, good work!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Great take on the theme. I didn't get past the prototype phase either, I hope you take the time to expand on this! Nice work so far!

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Nice one! I like what you did with it!

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14am

Whoa, awesome! 105 points is my best. Would've been nice to get survive than just one hit, though.

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:59am

Super trippy. Took me a few runs to get it, but once I got it I thought it was an interesting idea.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:13am

Nice! Movement feels a tiny bit sluggish, but I like the mechanic and your take on the theme.

Maek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:34am

Good idea and good interpretation of the theme. Sometimes I didnt recoginze, why im died.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11am

Pretty insane idea!
WoW! :D

This would make a great game!

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Great take on the theme. The game is certainly lacking something in its current state but this idea is very promising

spartangeek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:53pm

great idea, too bad you gave up!

granut100 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Good take on the theme! Controls are very good as well :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:40pm

more polish and the game would be amazing missing more interactions nice theme interpretation

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Wish there was some sound and some more feedback when an enemy gets hit, but its a promising prototype. Good work!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I see what you're saying about it not being fun, but on the whole I think that's a little harsh. Somewhere in here is something really interesting, but maybe the pressure crunch of LD is not the place to find it. Perhaps the objective needs to be more fine-tuned to this kind of action? For example, if somehow the goal was to create some sort of chain reaction using your previous selves.

It rather reminds me of playing guitar with a delay pedal. You can create really complex things on your own, but if you aren't in the same key or timing as the repeated sound it all goes to pot.

Also, graphically it looks super cool.

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Interesting idea and concept. If only you had devoted more time to it; no worries, though. It was still a solid prototype.

rjhelms says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:28pm

There's a lot of potential here. One suggestion: make the controls work more like something like Asteroids, where it's relative to the direction the ship is facing. It was a little confusing to have W sometimes be forwards and sometimes be backwards, for example.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Wow, good idea! excelent work :D

Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:25am

I find it very interesting. Unfortunately a lot of enemies wouldn't spawn until the first wave was half over so I didn't really have time to kill everything. I really liked the idea though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]