Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connecting Worlds

by SojaBird - Jam Entry

Jam:
=========================
Connect the worlds by making sure the workers can finish the bridge that will gap the space in-between the planets.

You can play solo (hard) or with a friend.


Controls:
Press F1 to get a reminder of all keys.
Left power-keys are your regular numbers, right one are the numpad.
You can navigate the menu with mouse or arrow keys.
Click to confirm or hit enter.
Power and buy items can also be used via mouse.


Left planet keys:
- AD to rotate turret
- W to shoot
- Z to buy workers
- X to upgrade your money income
- C to upgrade your shield
- V to upgrade your turret
- Numbers 1 to 6 to use your powers

Right planet keys:
- Left/Right arrow to rotate turret
- Up arrow to shoot
- U to buy workers
- I to upgrade your money income
- O to upgrade your shield
- P to upgrade your turret
- Numbers 8, 7, 5, 4, 2 and 1 on the numpad to use your powers


-----

I tried to finish this for the Compo but I needed the extra time to finish up the interface.
I did not have had the time to balance the game out so it might be a real challenge to win this thing. Let me know what's hard and how it could be improved.



Post Jam!
=========================
You can now battle your friends in local VERSUS mode!
Destroy the other player before it destroys you!!!

v1.1
- VERSUS MODE.
- Muzzle flash.
- Escape to exit to menu.
- Improved balance

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#58Theme(Jam)3.88
#65Fun(Jam)3.71
#80Innovation(Jam)3.71
#141Overall(Jam)3.59
#210Graphics(Jam)3.82
#288Mood(Jam)3.28
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#602Audio(Jam)2.08

Comments

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

Lol I am so sleepy didn't notice the spellings error in "conNect"

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24am

THIS IS SO HARD. I liked it but MAN.

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58am

For some reason the "Play" button doesn't work all the time. Once it randomly did, but I was too confused about what all the buttons were, and I died. You should provide a graphic that explains what each button does, some introduction, etc. The graphics are really good and I like the concept though.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59am

I think there's an error in the purchases, it let me buy upgrades with the mouse even when I went into the negatives, but not to fear, it's still really hard to win..

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43am

Great idea. Works well. Would make an awesome co-op game.

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40pm

It's hard but fun! The graphics are really good. It would make a really nice 2 payer game

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I updated the description with the controls ;)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Solo is indeed hard! : ] I can see this being a cool competitive lobbing game too where both pod cities are competing / blasting each other. Nice work!

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Very nice concept and execution, really needs a friend to enjoy

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Good work!

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Very hard but fun..

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

wow your own bullets kill you? that's harsh.
love the game and the graphics. well done.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Very hard but fun..

Aske says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Wow. really fun !

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Ha, great! I feel like one-player mode is do-able, but there should be more shields then, so you can concentrate on protecting the bridge, without worrying too much about the shields (because that's hard enough ;)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Lovely little game to play with a friend! Looks great. I enjoy the strategic elements as well. Great work for the Jam!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very hard, but pretty fun. Great job on this, single player was indeed hard, I'm sure the game would be blast in multiplayer, it feels really polished.

nolife-team says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12am

Really nice game:) Congrats!

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06am

excellent!
was a good tug of war too, almost thought he had it for a while... then the sheilds came back online.

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Nice graphics, cool gameplay

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Beautiful pixels and fun game

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Great idea! Was super fun. Needed someone else to play with me though.

ViliX says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I am really glad that it's a jam entry. My game wouldn't stand a chance :D

damrem says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Very original! Only misses a solo mode.

havana24 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Single player it's nearly impossible, but in coop it works! Good game! :)

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very cool idea, but crazy hard solo... It would be great if the other side was AI controlled in solo mode. I really like the art style too. Needs some sound too. Really nice work though!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Love it, it must be really fun with a friend. Or maybe with 3 players, one is managing the buyings with the mouse and the others use the cannons :D

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Hm, a pretty tricky game, especially if you play it alone :P

SojaBird says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Thanks for all the responses :D It's truely inspiring and I will continue to work on it for a little while.

I will add the AI as well, thanks for the suggestion

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Ok, I was too bad to actually beat it, but it had a lot of polish and I had a blast playing it. Some sound would really be the icing on this cake!

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:56pm

This is really well thought out. I appreciate the local coop nature, even though I didn't get to try it. For a post compo version, I would consider slowly unlocking each power + upgrade over time while introducing what they do, similar to something like Diablo 3. Thanks, and keep making awesome games!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:42am

Really neat! Will have to grab an office buddy to try it out properly :D

Capitals says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:08am

Damn this is difficult, however REALLY fun!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:02am

Nice little game. Very hard, but interesting.

MSaul says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:23pm

awesome game, got ton of fun !

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:40am

It's really hard to actually succeed at this but it's quite fun. Wish you would write what are the controls for, like in a word or two, next to them. Good entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]