Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel worlds

by Druid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If are the parralel worlds realy close to each other and somebody dies in one reality, can die in other reality too!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#91Humor3.39
#175Graphics3.79
#316Theme3.57
#372Mood3.21
#402Overall3.35
#430Fun3.19
#446Audio2.86
#508Innovation3.23

Comments

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12am

Interesting usage of theme.
Oh, and the second level reminded me of Frogger. :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

Why is this guy trying to kill me while I make dinner ? How can I avoid his bullet ?

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

The graphics style is amazing :) Unfortunately, I died from the bullet shot every time :/

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16am

This is a really fun game.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

Little tip... You can hide behind some kind of furniture if you use it ;)

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27am

Great graphic style, pretty good ideas. I would love more. Sometimes its a bit too hard and random. Keep up the good work.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53am

Very nice graphics. The concept is nice too. Good job.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

I always wanted to make such game ;o.
Anyway it's pretty cool.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

Fun concept, and the graphics are just perfect!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

REAL smart and innovative gameplay.
The pixel graphics even hightens the gameplay and narrative...

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55am

I love the puzzle aspect :D Took me a while not not get shot XD

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

Hahaha, i (or we) died !!! My kitchen explodes !! It's funny and i love how the game looks like. The only thing i didn't understad at all is : why two guys ?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05am

Hey, really great work! best I played so far :D

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20am

Well.. It is one guy and two slightly different realities :)

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Very Druid-esque :)

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Nicely executed and fun. The only problem I found was extremely loud sound of cars ;)

PunyOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Nice graphical style and the general mood. I needed to look to comments to figure out the first stage :(.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51pm

fun and ridiculous. great play!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30pm

fun concept but quite unforgiving :D

couldn't make it passed the cars

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Great concept. I really liked the potted plant level.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36pm

I found it extremely challenging without being frustrating. It reminded me a lot of McPixel, not just because of the artwork but also the brevity of the levels and some of the humor. That's not a bad thing! I hope you decide to continue development after the competition. I would like to see what other scenarios you can put these guys in. I love how everything causes the same death animation. Maybe you just didn't have time to add others, but I found it added to the dark humor of the game. Also, love the random car coming out of nowhere in the park scene. At first I didn't understand how I died.

Just one tiny bug I found while playing - when I first entered the park, the car sounds continued to play - I don't think that was intentional. Fortunately they went away after I died. My only criticism is that the car sound is a tad annoying.

Keep up the good work!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Thanks guys! Yeah, i want make more death animations but i didn't have time :( (i am pretty obsessed with death animations thanks to dangerous dave games :D )

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Nice graphics.
I love that the two worlds are differents by few details (windows...)

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Interestiing and sometimes hard i like it :D !

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Nice graphics but the trail and error gameplay wasn't for me.

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44pm

kind of confusing at first and may require a little bit more explanatory. besides that it is very interesting game. good job!

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Liked it. Simple but Good ideas guarantee fun time!!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58pm

So cool idea! I got really hyped as soon as I started. Great music and effects, thanks for sparing me that randomly generated stuff which many others use.
Pixel art is great too and the theme connection is brilliant to say the least since it also integrates so well with the game mechanics. Small bug: could open the door after I got shot.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

It's very fun I got 2 lines on my screen:

"MAKE DINNER"
"YOU DIED!"

:D

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I liked the graphic style, but didn't understood the story completely... Cars usually don't try to murder people...

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Bonkers. :p

Adjotur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Really cool :D Currently stuck on the second level but I feel a strong urge to keep trying. Some of the sound effects were a bit loud but otherwise I loved it.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Crashed my whole system after a while ...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11pm

This was pretty funny and random. Wish there had been more puzzles, the game was pretty short. The going home level was difficult because the collisions are little odd.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I just want to eat! Why must i be shot :(

Neat presentation love the graphics

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

Great art style, nice pixel art all, nice color palette. Cool interpretation of the theme.

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Thanks!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Really really hard! But that's not a bad thing.

I was playing the web version and I had a bit of trouble with the controls and focus.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:53pm

This was fun. I like the take on the theme. The graphics were nice and the different levels were interesting. I loved how unexplained a lot of it was.

AlexDJones says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Interesting, challenging but fun half-puzzle half-adventure game!

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I felt like the sound effects were a little too loud, but otherwise this is a pretty good game! Excellent use of theme.

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Nice little game :)
It was not easy to manage these 2 guys at the same time under the rain. I just ran and prayed.
Good challenge.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Excellent stuff, man! Enjoyed this all the way through. Unique gameplay style, and the art looks really good. Wish it was longer, but that's always the case in gamejams.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Very random and fun to play, the best game I played thus far (though I was walking rather randomly at the beginning). Took me a while to figure out that the bullet is rather slow and I can outrun it as much as needed. ^^"

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21pm

I like the graphics, and the overall idea. But a little to random, and hard)

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Really liked it, nice graphics. Short and funny. Love the concept but need more puzzles. Really random and funny xD Reminds me a lot to McPixel and one level reminds me to Frogger

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Funny game. Pretty hard sometimes. Nice graphics and retro sound.

Druid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Thanks guys! I am really glad you like my game!

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

Pretty cool "old-school"-style game. I liked the levels being short. The first level had me stumped for quite a while and I almost gave up. But alas, I figured it out and made it thru the entire game. Well done!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

That's a great concept. I Also like the art. Great work!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:58am

Interesting game

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

The theme feels a little bit forced on this one. It was a fun game anyways.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Die die and die! Lol! Really funny!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:29pm

liked the graphics, and a good idea, good job :)

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

Wow, I won't want to live in neither of those worlds... I think I've finished the 'Go home' level just on pure luck.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Those are some hard lifes...

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Nice game, congrats!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Interesting puzzle scenarios. Well crafted!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:16am

Great 8bit music and graphics! But how do you dodge the bullet? It reminds me somehow of McPixel. Good effort!

Birke says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:30pm

The first puzzle was quite difficult to figure out since it's not really that logical that running to the right and hide behind the furniture would not just result in you getting shot in the back on your way there. Interesting concept though.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:50am

Interesting game. I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fQEfK1MQqVU

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:22pm

well done !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]