Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

LD30 - Connected Worlds

by wobbleboxx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not tested on Linux and Windows! Please give feedback if you're on linux or windows if there are any bugs.

- Use WASD to look around
- Find the worlds that look like earth and click on them to connect
- Every world generates resources over time if it is NOT connected
- If the world is connected the resources start to decrease slowly until there's nothing left
- The more worlds that are connected at the same time, the higher your multiplier
- If the world has no more resources it will only stay in the chain if it is not the first world in the chain
- Use the slider to speed up time
- If no more resources are available the game is over

Good luck, have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#115Graphics3.96
#115Theme3.86
#515Mood3.04
#538Innovation3.18
#596Overall3.17
#818Audio2.18
#943Fun2.59

Comments

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

Really like the presentation on this one. There's a good amount of polish that you don't find on most entries.

The objective wasn't immediately clear in the gameplay. I didn't figure out what I was supposed to be doing until I actually read the entry page.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Cool idea and good execution. :)

Stuffie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

A little confusing at first, though the idea is an interesting one. The camera / 3d world is cool but I found it could get quite disorienting. Cool overall though.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Nice effort on the visuals :)

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Overall a very solid entry. Did you use the new unity gui ?

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08pm

I feel like the aliens in movies and cartoons that go from planet to planet destroying them for their resources! Nice game.

SaxonRah says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Not bad, I like the look and feel. Although I didn't like the game-play. It was a nice entry.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Nice graphics! I agree with tigerbyte, the gameplay it is not immediately clear. Do you generate every time the planets or not?

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Nice game! Took me some experimenting to figure out how to survive longer, but i liked it. Tried it on windows, no bugs discovered.

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

@graebor: Yes this is using the new Unity GUI System. I had a big smile on my face when I built the game for iOS, as everything aligned perfectly on iPhone and iPad on landscape as well as portrait. It just works instantly :)

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

@DDFranky: Yes, the planets are different every time the game starts. Time ran out, otherwise I would have put more effort on game balancing and challenges and the actual plan was to keep planets generating and have more overall progress, but yeah... :)

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

@Simon@LD: A good strategy is actually needed in order to get higher points. It's pretty easy to get into the 40k-50k, but to really max out the high scores you would need a good plan and quick reaction in the beginning. Thanks for the feedback for the windows version :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Graphics are polished and game looks wonderful! Good job! :)

Aumni says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:22am

Cool concept!! The graphics and controls are pretty awesome. Good work!!

TowelKing says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

solid game, the camera perspective is very cool. It would be nice to have more visual feedback on the actions you take, like text that tells you how many points you just gained, or what your current multiplayer just changed to.

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

@TowelKing: The multiplier is actually displayed on top of the screen, but it is called "Connected worlds", so maybe it is misleading somewhat. Thanks for the feedback :)

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Looks pretty. No idea what I was supposed to be doing even after I was (theoretically) already doing it. Would have fit nicely though with those previous 'you are the villain' theme themes though. :)

Linusson says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:17am

The first couple of rounds I was kind of confused and died quickly. Then I got the hang of it and really liked it. :) The game had more dept than I first believed so I guess it will take some strategy to get a really good score (I got 32847).

I wished that I could speed it up to more than 10x but that might be because I didn't played it in the most optimal way though. :D

It was nicely presented and polished too so well done. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]